PDA

View Full Version : Plugged the EGR

Almira
07-18-2005, 05:04 PM
Okay, I'm new at this and I don't know a whole lot. I took my car to a mechanic because my vacuum line that was connected to the EGR valve and the EGR VM kept popping out. I took it to the same mechanic 3 times because it kept doing it. After replacing the TPS the vacuum line popped out again. So this time I took it to a different mechanic. Well he informs me "yata.yata,yata". That means I don't remember what he said. All I remember is he told that the EGR is not doing what it's supposed to be doing. He then told me that I had 2 choices. I can either buy a new one or I can have it plugged. I asked him what he would do and he said that he would plug it up since all it's really for is emissions. And since we don't have emissions testing here then it would be pointless to have it. So I took his his suggestion and had him plug it. Which btw was him taking a pair of pliers and denting the hole shut.
So my question is ... Was that the smart thing?
Please don't rag on me. I really don't have a clue about these things.

Thanks

Adrian Avgerinos
07-18-2005, 05:17 PM
Got any pictures? Without seeing what was done, it's hard to speculate.

Punisher
07-18-2005, 10:03 PM
sounds good

Almira
07-19-2005, 04:03 AM
sorry no pictures. don't have a digital camera. i can take one on my regular camera but it will be awhile before i get it developed. i have noticed though that it runs a lot smoother. i'm just worried that it'll blow up on me or something

42qn30
07-19-2005, 05:41 AM
Should all be good. I bought a kit from a guy a while ago and the car runs much smoother. Your just killing animals by raising the the CO2 levels in the atmosphere and raising the average temperature.

Almira
07-19-2005, 05:59 AM