PDA

View Full Version : my ride is always bumpy: why?

nunley
07-06-2005, 09:11 PM
ok. im not dumb, but surely im no mechanic. and this one has me stumped

I was driving like an idiot and i took a turn way too fast. my car slid sideways and ever since then, when it starts to move it will bump-bump-bump like running over small sticks in the road. the faster i go, the faster the bumping becomes. once im up to interstate speed its just a vibrating type noise.

at first, i thought: one (or more) of my tires has a flat spot. i couldnt see a 'flat' spot on any tire. but the two outside tires have the sidewalls pretty much shredded. ((i bought 4 new tires 3 days before this happened :( ))

now i have never heard of a car riding bumpy like this from a flatspotted tire...

i took it to WalMart since thats where i bought the tires...of course flatspots arent covered by their protection plan *ripoff*
they rotated,and balanced the tires. after visually inspecting each tire, they told me there was nothing wrong and each tire was in top shape......i guess they didnt look hard enough to see that each of the right side tires had the sidewall tread torn to shreads :slap: . told me there were no flat spots

so my question is,,,are the Walmart people wrong, or is there something else causing my car to bump at different intervals according to my speed.

if so, what else could cause this???my dad said that a hub bearing might have gone out...if that is the case, then why did my car bump in the rear before tire rotation, and then bump in the front AFTER rotation?

any ideas would be appreciated, because after driving with vibration on the highway for so long, it is starting to make some interior pieces rattle which is very annoying on long trips.

ps. please dont flame me because i drove my celica like an idiot and skidded out...i regret it all the time. im very glad i didnt get hurt and only got a dented bumper and roached tire(s). thanks

CelicaGT4
07-06-2005, 09:14 PM
bent rim