PDA

View Full Version : Door switch



Super Shadow
06-26-2005, 06:18 PM
When I open my either of my doors the light dome light does not go on or the light on the dash for the doors does not light up either. Could it be the switches on the door jamb that could be the problem?

Hooligan
06-26-2005, 06:20 PM
It certainly could. They can be had for about $15 each from the dealer.

RickyNo
06-26-2005, 07:51 PM
Door switch breaking, common issue on the model.

Luis C
06-26-2005, 07:53 PM
Just remove them (lift rubber boot from the bottom and remove the 12 mm bolt) and drown them with WD-40. I had the same problem and thats how I took care of it.

rocketz5
06-27-2005, 12:40 AM
mine just broke aswell. i tried the wd40, diddnt work so im gona buy a new one

Psyko
06-27-2005, 01:30 AM
Mine have been broke since ive had the car, I dont care enough to get it fixed..

RickyNo
06-27-2005, 05:39 AM
i did self-repair, didn't cost a penny.

TRD Terror
06-27-2005, 06:59 PM
my driver door, and some times passenger door do the same thing off and on,, like they are stiky... when I get some time.. Ill clean em up and reinstall and see what that does.

Peace,
TRD Terror

Wazza_2004
06-28-2005, 04:40 AM
Yep, had the same problem. Just pulled the switches out sprayed with some WD-40 and it was all good.

trx0x
06-28-2005, 06:32 AM
i'd pull them and clean them. my driver's side was acting like that at one point, and taking it out and cleaning it cured it. a lot of times, switches like this just have a grounding issue. the switch has to have good contact with the body (no dirt between the switch and the paint); when you attach it to the car body, the body acts as the switch's ground. without good contact to ground, you get an open circuit.

ayo
02-27-2006, 01:12 AM
where does the switch have contact with the body. I know there's a plastic cover over the switch and the bolt under the switch. What needs to be clean and contacting the body??? My door lights wont go off and I'm wondering if what you're suggesting will fix my problem?

1992celicagt-s
03-06-2006, 05:04 AM
you can always just replace them they are not hard. i payed 40.00 for the left and right side switch. it took me a whole 10 minutes to install them. thats what i would do if i where you.

Galcobar
03-06-2006, 06:23 AM
The bolt itself acts as the ground, since it's the only place where metal on the switch touches bare frame metal (electricity not really liking paint).

jaded_driver
03-06-2006, 03:14 PM
Mine have been broke since ive had the car, I dont care enough to get it fixed..


pwned lol

evilcel
03-06-2006, 04:20 PM
Im with psyko on this one... been broke, will stay broke.

I ainta skeered of no dark