PDA

View Full Version : Getting licensed in AB

acidice333
05-29-2005, 08:06 AM
How hard is it to get a drivers license in AB?

I'm prohibited from driving by interest of ICBC (two speeding tickets, lol) and a court order (: so I was thinking I should try and get a AB drivers license? I didn't have my "full" DL when I lost my license.

One of my friends that lived in AB said I could go there, do the written test and get a driven test and done. Is it that simple? =/

RickyNo
05-29-2005, 02:59 PM
Nothing is better than official infos:
http://www3.gov.ab.ca/gs/services/mv/operator.cfm
Before doing too much reading, look at the last point of "Basic Qualifications".

acidice333
05-29-2005, 04:18 PM
What defines being a resident?
Yes I have an address there, I'm actually a BC resident but yes I have a phyical house address there.

RickyNo
05-29-2005, 10:19 PM
Contact them and ask. Having a physical address probably qualifies you.

ChrisD
06-03-2005, 05:31 PM
Should work. Are you over 18? New drivers have to get a probation license or something now. My brother can't drive late at night on his own, even though he has his license :hehe:

Arcias
06-05-2005, 10:05 AM
Yeah, I got mine a couple months before that was implented. Glad I did too, I'd hate having a curfew.

celicaguy.
06-06-2005, 07:41 PM
The curfew stuff only applies to the learners licence not the gdl glass 5.

ChrisD
06-07-2005, 07:43 PM
The curfew stuff only applies to the learners licence not the gdl glass 5.

Nope, it applies to the GDL class 5 too. My brother just got his a few weeks ago.

celicaguy.
06-09-2005, 06:01 AM
http://www.saferoads.com/drivers/drivers_gdl_qa.html

As far as this states the curfew is only a limitation but on the gdl learners licence. I've been pulled over a few times way past 12. In no way am I trying to be a dick, just thought maybe I'de try to get your little bro an extra couple hours at the girlfriends.

RickyNo
06-13-2005, 05:19 PM