PDA

View Full Version : 5sfe to 3sgte, fwd to awd

RelicCELIC
08-07-2017, 04:49 AM
Hi my name is Mark, and I have recently blew my rods in my daily 1992 Celica GT. I took this as a sign that its time for me to start building experience and experimenting so I can grow and better myself as an apprentice.

(I am currently in school for a tech in Canada and just finished level 1 so I have a little bit of knowledge. Not a whole lot of experience but I do have the capacity to learn)

I was thinking of just going all out and make my daily a project. With the encouragement of a few friends, I made the decision of sourcing a 3sgte and dropping it in my GT, and if possible converting it to 4WD (I read that the GT and GT-S have the same setup as the All Trac and the hole drive shaft is already there.) I was wondering if there was anything I should know and if you could recommend where I can get the parts from or just advice in general as I have never done anything like this before. Your help would be much appreciated. if you would like to continue privately. Thanks!

Edit: I know this probably has been asked many times but I havent found anything recent about this. So the market may be different. Which is why I am writing this now.

sefiro
08-07-2017, 04:59 AM
Find an alltrac in need of repairs and rebuild it. Your gt still need the engine, harness, computer, rear suspension/drive train etc. Pretty much replacing everything except the front suspension and transmission.

Sent from my XT1053 using Tapatalk

RelicCELIC
08-07-2017, 05:42 AM
I found an engine online from a jdm source, its a complete engine with
"
Transmission 5 Speed Manual
ECU (Computer)
Alternator, Starter
Turbo Charger
Igniter Pack
AC and PS Pumps
Coilpacks
Intake and Exhaust manifolds
Uncut Wiring Harness
"

Murgatroy
08-07-2017, 11:33 AM