PDA

View Full Version : Celica to Supra conversion.

paovang
09-28-2016, 03:34 PM
Hi so I'm new to the game. And I'm about to get a 99 celica and I want to do a Supra conversion. Can u guys help me out on doing this? Can u tell me everything I need to know to do this. Or steer me into the right direction. Thank you!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4thgenceli
09-28-2016, 04:06 PM
How much are you planning on spending to do this?

Murgatroy
09-28-2016, 04:16 PM
Sure. Sell the Celica, buy a Supra.

That is everything you need to know about doing a Supra Conversion. You convert the Celica into money, which you then convert into a Supra.

All Supras are straight six longitudinal mounted engine driving the rear wheels. The Sixth Gen Celica is a four cylinder transverse mounted engine driving the front wheels. Other than the Toyota Badge and some other small inconsequential items like the turn signal stock, there is NOTHING similar between ANY Supra and a 6th Gen Celica.

Unless you plan on making a tube chassis based car, which is doable if your pockets are deep enough, you will never create a Celica/Supra conversion out of a FWD Celica.

Now, if you think I am being mean, I am not sorry. For nearly twenty years I have been hearing the same question from people that have no idea about cars thinking that this is completely doable and that I am close minded and arrogant for being realistic and saying no.

But no. It can't be done short of a five figure budget.

ChrisD
09-28-2016, 05:11 PM
Now, if you think I am being mean, I am not sorry. For nearly twenty years I have been hearing the same question from people that have no idea about cars thinking that this is completely doable and that I am close minded and arrogant for being realistic and saying no.

Well, usually they just ask about a 4WD conversion... ha.