PDA

View Full Version : Switched & fused wire find? st185



90ToyAllTrac
09-25-2016, 07:44 PM
What is a good seldom used wire to power a boost controller thats easy to find. I tried what should've been a defogger wire but had no power while running. Looking at my chiltons diagrams don't see anything non critical. This may be a dumb question.

4thgenceli
09-25-2016, 07:52 PM
Cigarette lighter

Sent from Naboo

90ToyAllTrac
09-26-2016, 02:10 PM
Cigarette lighter

Sent from Naboo

Holy SHT! That's why I asked. Never woulda thought of that. I've lost a lot of brain cells this life. Thanks.

4thgenceli
09-26-2016, 03:18 PM
I do smart shit from time to time.

90ToyAllTrac
09-26-2016, 08:11 PM
I do smart shit from time to time.

After thinking about it. I will check when I get home but isn't the cig lighter hot all the time? Not sure if it's a good idea to splice into that.

4thgenceli
09-26-2016, 08:15 PM
Yes it is. Doesn't the controller have a hot and switched power source (like the radio) to retain any settings?

Sent from Naboo

underscore
09-26-2016, 08:36 PM
Most cig lighters are switched, at least if the vehicle only has one (my Jeep has one of each).

4thgenceli
09-27-2016, 01:58 PM
I stand sorta corrected. My truck and wife's crossover have spoiled me. There are dual outlets on both. One is always hot and the other is switched with ACC or ON.

I just pulled my 1988 EWD manual and found this. Pay attention to the box in the upper right. It states that the ground is active with IGN or ACC position. So the ground wire is switched bit the B+ is always on.

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160927/efaa7f03ff1f8d6219030152674753a9.jpg

Sent from Naboo

90ToyAllTrac
09-27-2016, 02:59 PM
Yes it is. Doesn't the controller have a hot and switched power source (like the radio) to retain any settings?

Sent from Naboo

Not according to the instructions. 2 pos wires, switched and fused. Will update when finished.

4thgenceli
09-27-2016, 03:10 PM
Not according to the instructions. 2 pos wires, switched and fused. Will update when finished.

So it needs two B+ feeds? One from a switched source and one from a fused source?

90ToyAllTrac
09-28-2016, 08:37 PM
So it needs two B+ feeds? One from a switched source and one from a fused source?

I looked up but don't understand the B+ thing. For some reason it has 2 separate 12+ inputs on the gauge controller.

Anyway, I tried to find the cruise control wire but couldn't so I ended up taking the console apart to see what color the cig lighter wire is. And it is definitely switched so I will splice into that. Stay tuned.