PDA

View Full Version : Gen2 3SGTE Rebuilding



Il_Barone
09-05-2016, 03:11 PM
Here i am again :)

I've been away for a long time because my engine (1991 gen2 3sgte) cracked near the water pump and i had to save money for the repair work.

I found an used gen2 block in good conditions, and i bought all the necessary for the resuscitation of my All Trac.

My setup is:

Gen2 head with Gen3 camshafts
Gen2 block with:
- Cometic steel head gasket (thick as the original stock)
- CP pistons (86,5mm diameter)
- Eagle rods
- ACL complete bearing set
- Stainless Steel exhaust system
- Crankshaft and flywheel balanced

I'd like to keep the original ECU. What is your opinion about? :)

Here there are some pics of the old and new engine:

http://i67.tinypic.com/1xxikn.jpg

http://i64.tinypic.com/2pq25py.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/18ci36.jpg

http://i63.tinypic.com/2qx2wbr.jpg

Thank you for your help :)

Daniele

Il_Barone
09-16-2016, 08:26 AM
Hello

I'm looking for the spark plugs.

I can't find the stock spark plugs (Denso PK20R8), can you recommend an alternative solution?

Thank you

Daniele

4thgenceli
09-16-2016, 12:38 PM
Get a set of BKR7E plugs (NGK).

Il_Barone
09-18-2016, 08:13 PM
Get a set of BKR7E plugs (NGK).

I found a pdf bgb and the spark plugs recommended from Toyota are:

Denso PK20R8
NGK BKR6EP8

The BKR7E are colder than the other two? Any other differences?

Thank you :)

Nitro_Alltrac
09-19-2016, 12:43 AM
I forget the exact difference, I think you're right in that it is a colder plug.

It is the one that gets recommended a lot for the 3SGTE.

I don't see any reason with what you've done that you can't keep your original ECU if you still have the Gen 2 sensors and AFM. You won't see the full benefit of the cams but other than that there shouldn't be any issues.

MrWOT
09-19-2016, 02:36 AM
If you use the original computer with that you're really going to limit yourself. I'd throw a nice megasquirt setup on that.

Il_Barone
09-19-2016, 01:07 PM
I forget the exact difference, I think you're right in that it is a colder plug.

It is the one that gets recommended a lot for the 3SGTE.

I don't see any reason with what you've done that you can't keep your original ECU if you still have the Gen 2 sensors and AFM. You won't see the full benefit of the cams but other than that there shouldn't be any issues.

Thank you, i didn't know that the BKR7E are recommended for the 3SGTE :)

Il_Barone
09-19-2016, 01:07 PM
If you use the original computer with that you're really going to limit yourself. I'd throw a nice megasquirt setup on that.

I know, but i have a limited budget.

Maybe one day.... :)

4thgenceli
09-19-2016, 03:00 PM
The NGK BK6RE plugs are similar to the OEM Denso plugs (spec'd out the same at least). The 7's are a bit colder plug. If you're looking to stock boost levels the 6REs would work. Any higher compression or higher boost levels you'll want a colder plug. On my gen4 3sgte I ran it on a pair of stockish plugs while running through the break-in after a rebuild. I then switched out to the 7re plugs and on the same boost level noticed a huge difference. I was running around 15lbs boost consistently and had no issues (after sorting out non-related problems lol).

Il_Barone
09-19-2016, 03:13 PM
The NGK BK6RE plugs are similar to the OEM Denso plugs (spec'd out the same at least). The 7's are a bit colder plug. If you're looking to stock boost levels the 6REs would work. Any higher compression or higher boost levels you'll want a colder plug. On my gen4 3sgte I ran it on a pair of stockish plugs while running through the break-in after a rebuild. I then switched out to the 7re plugs and on the same boost level noticed a huge difference. I was running around 15lbs boost consistently and had no issues (after sorting out non-related problems lol).

Thank you :)

Shadowlife25
09-21-2016, 12:53 AM
If you like, I always recommend the NGK Iridium plugs. You will want the BKR6EIX for stock heat range or BKR7EIX for one step colder.
If you are using Gen3 cams, while it is true the ecu won't do anything for you in relation to them, you can adjust the exhaust cam 6 degrees and make some added power. Perhaps Luni will chime in to confirm that it is correct to retard it by 6deg.

Getting a bit of additional power, I would recommend a boost controller. Preferably an electronic type. I have always been partial to my Apex-i AVCR. Others like the older Greddy Profec-B. I prefer the AVCR because it has a digital readout and you can see easily what you are doing with no guess work.

Il_Barone
09-21-2016, 11:00 AM
If you like, I always recommend the NGK Iridium plugs. You will want the BKR6EIX for stock heat range or BKR7EIX for one step colder.
If you are using Gen3 cams, while it is true the ecu won't do anything for you in relation to them, you can adjust the exhaust cam 6 degrees and make some added power. Perhaps Luni will chime in to confirm that it is correct to retard it by 6deg.

Getting a bit of additional power, I would recommend a boost controller. Preferably an electronic type. I have always been partial to my Apex-i AVCR. Others like the older Greddy Profec-B. I prefer the AVCR because it has a digital readout and you can see easily what you are doing with no guess work.

Thank you :)

Regarding the additional power, i have a gen2 block, and i am always very fearful of a possible crack :D :D

Il_Barone
09-23-2016, 12:09 PM
Spark plugs arrived this morning :)

http://i66.tinypic.com/2hrpthl.jpg

Il_Barone
12-06-2016, 04:46 PM
Hello everybody :)

Unfortunately the engine work has stopped. I'm out of town for work and i'll be back after Christmas.

I would like to take this opportunity to ask you a question: do you think that 9 is a good compression ratio?

Some friends of mine told me that it's too high....

I wish you a good weekend (here in Italy is holiday on December 8)

Daniele

MrWOT
12-09-2016, 02:37 AM
What octane fuel is available and goal? Sticking with CT26 with at least 91 available, no problem @ 9:1

Il_Barone
12-12-2016, 03:45 PM
What octane fuel is available and goal? Sticking with CT26 with at least 91 available, no problem @ 9:1

Hi :)

Here in Italy i can choose between 95 and 100 octane fuel.

Yes, i'll keep the CT26.

MrWOT
12-13-2016, 02:30 AM
As long as that number is (RON+MON)/2 you're more than okay. CT26 only blows hot air over 16-17psi. Will be perfectly fine @ 9:1 on that kind of octane. Don't see your intercooler anywhere? Would invest in 185RC or 205 WTA top mount.

Freelancer
12-13-2016, 03:49 AM
If you use the original computer with that you're really going to limit yourself. I'd throw a nice megasquirt setup on that.

What advantages powerwise will a Megasquirt bring on this type of setup? Just curious, I have a build with similar components underway. I know the MAF can be eliminated...

MrWOT
12-13-2016, 04:29 AM
Nothing good about the factory systems at this point. No way in hell the air meter calibration is good, it's bad even in the remans I've seen. If it's never going to see a different turbo, stock and deal with the meter somehow.

Il_Barone
12-13-2016, 02:19 PM
As long as that number is (RON+MON)/2 you're more than okay. CT26 only blows hot air over 16-17psi. Will be perfectly fine @ 9:1 on that kind of octane. Don't see your intercooler anywhere? Would invest in 185RC or 205 WTA top mount.

I have a limited budget, so i'll keep the original IC for now.

What do you think about all those front mount IC kits i see on ebay?

Freelancer
12-19-2016, 12:47 AM
The piping or the intercoolers as well? The intercoolers do the job but the end tanks tend to be small compared with higher quality options. The piping isn't 'plug and play' from what I've heard and requires some custom fitting depending on your route you choose. I plan on getting my piping kit there and then sourcing a better intercooler.

Il_Barone
12-20-2016, 02:19 PM
The piping or the intercoolers as well?

Both :)

Il_Barone
02-17-2017, 11:58 AM
Something is moving, very slowly :)

http://i63.tinypic.com/95orav.jpg

Yesterday night we mounted the intake manifold, injectors and the wiring.

Anyway, i noticed for the first time a modify on the turbo, here it is:

http://i63.tinypic.com/abkmsj.jpg

There are two pipes, one on the front (in the picture, where the metal cover is cut) and one on the back of the CT26.

What do you think it is, a custom water-cooling modify?

Il_Barone
02-22-2017, 04:42 PM
Any opinion? :sad2:

celica91gts
02-22-2017, 05:15 PM
maybe they cut the heat shield because it was rubbing on and damaging the water cooling line? im not positive but i think my old ct26 had water lines stock.

Nitro_Alltrac
02-22-2017, 11:26 PM
The stock set up is a dual hard line bolting to the turbo from the top. There are a couple of short rubber hoses that connect the hard lines back to the coolant system.

This page has pictures of the stock coolant lines about half way down.

http://lovehorsepower.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=16&Itemid=21

My guess would be that something has happened to the hard lines and the PO either didn't want to buy new ones or couldn't find them.

Il_Barone
02-23-2017, 01:01 PM
The stock set up is a dual hard line bolting to the turbo from the top. There are a couple of short rubber hoses that connect the hard lines back to the coolant system.

This page has pictures of the stock coolant lines about half way down.

http://lovehorsepower.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=16&Itemid=21

My guess would be that something has happened to the hard lines and the PO either didn't want to buy new ones or couldn't find them.

PO= previous owner?

celica91gts
02-23-2017, 01:11 PM
PO= previous owner?

parole officer... haha, yeah the previous owner would make the most sense.

Il_Barone
02-23-2017, 01:14 PM
Ahahahaha :laugh::laugh::laugh:

Nitro_Alltrac
02-23-2017, 04:20 PM
Could be the parole officer. Hard to tell about the chain of ownership sometimes.

Il_Barone
02-24-2017, 01:11 PM
:)

Il_Barone
02-24-2017, 04:31 PM
Welded by hand plug for the blow-off valve

http://i68.tinypic.com/2znwb9z.jpg

Il_Barone
03-06-2017, 02:09 PM
Yesterday was a passion day :D

We dropped in the engine with our faithful friend, the forklift :)

http://i68.tinypic.com/5kpzbd.jpg

We have to connect all the wiring, shift cables, fuel line, drive shafts...but the most of the job was done :)

http://i63.tinypic.com/oiavl3.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/2isd0de.jpg

Il_Barone
03-08-2017, 04:36 PM
It works! :bigsmile:

First, we run the engine without the coil to put the oil (Castrol Magnatec) in circulation, then we connected the coil and it turned on at the first try :)

Maybe tomorrow evening we'll do the first ride after a long time, we still mount one driveshaft boot and new tires.

Here there's a picture of the engine complete and one of another friend of ours (in addition to the forklift)

http://i64.tinypic.com/ie41gn.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/2dsidjn.jpg

celica91gts
03-09-2017, 01:10 PM
nice! always a good feeling when it starts on the first try huuh?

4thgenceli
03-10-2017, 01:00 AM
nice! always a good feeling when it starts on the first try huuh?
Unlike me..
Who had to discover the hard way his fuel pump was wired backwards

Sent from Naboo

Il_Barone
03-13-2017, 01:16 PM
Bad news guys.
Very bad news.

It leaks coolant from the head gasket. Exactly from the layers of the gasket.

With the engine on, we can see the coolant dripping from that precise point (in the red circle)

http://i68.tinypic.com/ip4nkw.jpg

http://i66.tinypic.com/mcrr6x.jpg


We torqued the head bolts following the BGB instructions.

We have not re-torqued them yet. Maybe it's the reason of that leak?

The head gasket is a Cometic with ARP bolts. Block and head were machine-shaped.

Did the same thing happen to you? Or do you know if it's a possible problem with Cometic gaskets?

I'm very demoralized :(

Il_Barone
03-31-2017, 12:52 PM
We re-torque the head bolts and it doesn't leak anymore!!

We did about 10 km of road test, the engine goes very fast, the Japspeed stainless steel exhaust makes a beautiful sound :D

Next week we'll take the car to the bodyshop for a complete repainting

Pictures coming soon :D

celica91gts
03-31-2017, 01:13 PM
glad to hear it man!

4thgenceli
03-31-2017, 03:24 PM
The re-torquing is a wondrous thing...

Il_Barone
03-31-2017, 04:02 PM
The re-torquing is a wondrous thing...

:D :D :D

andy
03-31-2017, 08:29 PM
Looks great!

jdm_celica_gts
04-01-2017, 02:13 PM
Is the japspeed exhaust made for the st185? I can only find it for the st205.

Il_Barone
04-02-2017, 10:53 PM
Is the japspeed exhaust made for the st185? I can only find it for the st205.

Yes, it's for st185. I bought the complete exhaust and the downpipe.

I bought it about one year ago from eBay.

Seller was "uk-performance-uk", maybe you can ask them if they still have something for the st185.

Il_Barone
05-10-2017, 04:18 PM
Hi everybody!

Car is almost ready!

I have a CS hood in my garage.... Can i install it or there's a risk of heat problems? My engine has a stock ATA intercooler.

Thank you :)

pintoBC_3sgte
05-10-2017, 11:25 PM
You will have problems with the tmic and the cs hood. Best bet would be to go fmic with that hood

Il_Barone
05-11-2017, 09:18 AM
You will have problems with the tmic and the cs hood. Best bet would be to go fmic with that hood

For now i don't have enought money for a FMIC.

Do you think it could be a good solution putting a fan on the TMIC?

Will be there enough space?

Thank you

Luni
05-11-2017, 08:32 PM
If you like, I always recommend the NGK Iridium plugs. You will want the BKR6EIX for stock heat range or BKR7EIX for one step colder.
If you are using Gen3 cams, while it is true the ecu won't do anything for you in relation to them, you can adjust the exhaust cam 6 degrees and make some added power. Perhaps Luni will chime in to confirm that it is correct to retard it by 6deg.

Getting a bit of additional power, I would recommend a boost controller. Preferably an electronic type. I have always been partial to my Apex-i AVCR. Others like the older Greddy Profec-B. I prefer the AVCR because it has a digital readout and you can see easily what you are doing with no guess work.

Late to the party.

Gen3 exhaust cam and Gen2 exhaust cam are same thing except Gen3 is already retarded ~4.5 degrees. So, if youre running Gen3 cams, straight up, youre -4.5 degrees exhaust and +2 intake from where Gen2 cams are.

Il_Barone
05-12-2017, 03:23 PM
Late to the party.

Gen3 exhaust cam and Gen2 exhaust cam are same thing except Gen3 is already retarded ~4.5 degrees. So, if youre running Gen3 cams, straight up, youre -4.5 degrees exhaust and +2 intake from where Gen2 cams are.

Thank you :)

Il_Barone
05-12-2017, 03:34 PM
Almost ready... :)

http://i63.tinypic.com/1znsw0n.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/14vn0v6.jpg

Il_Barone
07-10-2017, 04:06 PM
Here i am :)

For now i've driven for about 100 miles.

Everything looks good, engine's answer is always very quick at low, medium or high regimes.

The Japspeed exhaust makes a beautiful sound.

No leaks.

The only thing i've noticed.... when i drive in the traffic, the cooling fan comes on every 5 minutes. When i stop the engine and i put one hand on the hood, i feel very very very warm coming from the engine bay.

Is the 3SGTE so hot in your Celicas?

Have a nice week :)


Some pic of my AT :)

http://i67.tinypic.com/2mcd3zr.jpg

http://i65.tinypic.com/29w7t5u.jpg

http://i67.tinypic.com/1zyblmx.jpg

http://i68.tinypic.com/2mpelfo.jpg

MrWOT
07-13-2017, 10:14 PM
If you want to bring the temps down, get a heat shield for the turbine housing and wrap the exhaust until it exits the engine bay.



Also cover the exhaust/engine facing surfaces of the intake/ic with mylar tape where you can.



Make sure you have a good seal around your radiator that forces air through the core. Use weatherstripping and silicone where required. Good seal > a little lost surface area. Make sure fan shrouding is well sealed to the core in the same manner.

pintoBC_3sgte
07-14-2017, 12:24 PM
Would it be hot since you have a tmic and an RC hood??

Il_Barone
07-14-2017, 03:07 PM
If you want to bring the temps down, get a heat shield for the turbine housing and wrap the exhaust until it exits the engine bay.



Also cover the exhaust/engine facing surfaces of the intake/ic with mylar tape where you can.



Make sure you have a good seal around your radiator that forces air through the core. Use weatherstripping and silicone where required. Good seal > a little lost surface area. Make sure fan shrouding is well sealed to the core in the same manner.

Thank you for your tips :)

I noticed that there're two types of heat shield, one adhesive and one non-adhesive sold with ties. Which is better in your opinion?

Thank you again :)

Il_Barone
07-14-2017, 03:09 PM
Would it be hot since you have a tmic and an RC hood??

You're right, but i did not imagine that it would be so hot with that hood.

I'm taking a look around for a slim IC fan....

MrWOT
07-14-2017, 08:03 PM
It gets hot. An RC hood isn't going to save you from traffic heatsoak.

https://www.designengineering.com/category/catalog/dei-cycle/insulating-materials/cool-tape

That's the kind of thing you want on the engine/exhaust facing intake surfaces, adhesive backed.

The turbo/exhaust wrap is not adhesive, use steel strapping to hold on. Similar to http://www.designengineering.com/category/catalog/design-engineering-inc/component-specific-products/turbo-insulation-kit

Brand isn't specific, that one just came to mind because it's easily accessible to me.

I use mylar tape from the local hardware store in place of the DEI stuff unless needed (look in the section they keep insulation), the adhesive on the DEI stuff is rated higher.

Il_Barone
07-17-2017, 04:16 PM
It gets hot. An RC hood isn't going to save you from traffic heatsoak.

https://www.designengineering.com/category/catalog/dei-cycle/insulating-materials/cool-tape

That's the kind of thing you want on the engine/exhaust facing intake surfaces, adhesive backed.

The turbo/exhaust wrap is not adhesive, use steel strapping to hold on. Similar to http://www.designengineering.com/category/catalog/design-engineering-inc/component-specific-products/turbo-insulation-kit

Brand isn't specific, that one just came to mind because it's easily accessible to me.

I use mylar tape from the local hardware store in place of the DEI stuff unless needed (look in the section they keep insulation), the adhesive on the DEI stuff is rated higher.

Ok.

Sorry for the stupid question, but...what should i have to cover with mylar tape?

That two areas in the red circles?

http://i68.tinypic.com/1zcjwr5.jpg

Thank you :)

Il_Barone
10-06-2017, 02:17 PM
I've replaced the original AT hood :)


http://i65.tinypic.com/jh92ms.jpg

I have also ordered a turbo/exhaust wrap roll. It should arrive in a week. :)

pintoBC_3sgte
10-07-2017, 01:09 AM
Nice! Looks good