PDA

View Full Version : 4th gen swap, passenger motor mount question.



celica91gts
04-30-2016, 02:28 AM
Hey all,

I'm currently swapping a 4th gen 3sgte into my st184. in all the threads I've read everyone has said that the motor mounts from a 5sfe will be bolt on for the 3sgte. My passenger side engine mount has two studs pointing down to mount to the motor mount bracket. The engine mount, to motor mount bracket on the 3sgte has a stud sticking up. Do i have to cut and drill out the old stud to properly install my passenger side motor mount?

if what i described is not clear i can post pictures.

thanks in advance!

4thgenceli
04-30-2016, 02:44 AM
You can grab a 5sfe motor mount bracket and stick it on there. It should fit the motor.

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 02:47 AM
i have a 5sfe motor mount from my old engine. im about to post pictures. gotta donate first, its been long over due for all the info i get from this site.

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 03:09 AM
http://http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q307/fieldplaya097/mount.jpg (http://s139.photobucket.com/user/fieldplaya097/media/mount.jpg.html)

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 03:10 AM
http://<a href="http://s139.photobucket.com/user/fieldplaya097/media/mount.jpg.html" target="_blank"><img src="http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q307/fieldplaya097/mount.jpg" border="0" alt=" photo mount.jpg"/></a>

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 03:12 AM
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q307/fieldplaya097/mount.jpg

so in this picture you can see the bracket has a stud sticking up and is in the way of my 5sfe mount from installing correctly

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 03:14 AM
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q307/fieldplaya097/engine%20mount.jpg5sfe passenger side mount with two studs sticking down

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 03:16 AM
http://i139.photobucket.com/albums/q307/fieldplaya097/progress.jpg
teaser picture

celica91gts
04-30-2016, 04:55 PM
Update. im buying a 3sgte motor mount today. part gets here at 5. i will take pictures if there are any differences. hopefully it fits.

celica91gts
05-01-2016, 04:22 AM
Hey guys. I was able to remove the stud sticking up in the first working picture I posted. But the motor mount sits in at an angle. I called Toyota and couple shops looking to buy a 3sgte engine mount but they are only carried the front and rear mounts. What should I do? Any input will be helpful. My next plan is to pay a machine shop 100$ to make me a motor mount. Do you guys happen to have a picture of the right motor mount by chance?

celica91gts
05-02-2016, 05:26 PM
Update, this person on this thread has the same issue.

http://www.6gc.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=68361

so i guess the passenger side motor mount is different from 5th gen 5sfe's and 6th gen 5sfe celicas?

CollapsedNut
05-10-2016, 04:11 AM
How much angle? You sure it's not just how the engine is sitting in the bay? If you jack up or let down the engine a little it won't line up? I haven't dealt with your exact swap but it seems like every S series mount I've seen is the same

pintoBC_3sgte
06-11-2016, 12:23 PM
So what came of this? Figure it out?

UtahSleeper
07-22-2016, 10:15 PM
I feel bad for just now seeing this thread. If it's anything like my motor/car, you unbolt the metal that the mount connects to(on the block) and replace it with the one from your old engine.

pintoBC_3sgte
07-23-2016, 12:56 AM
I didn't have to do any mount swapping for the 4th gen 3s to fit in my 184!??

ChrisD
07-23-2016, 02:09 PM
I feel bad for just now seeing this thread. If it's anything like my motor/car, you unbolt the metal that the mount connects to(on the block) and replace it with the one from your old engine.

^this is the correct answer. Use the original bracket from your original motor.

Jon - that's what we did on your car too.

pintoBC_3sgte
07-23-2016, 02:27 PM
Cool! Good to know

Funkycheeze
07-29-2016, 07:08 PM
Yeah we bolted the engine part of the mount to the 3S, and then it worked perfectly with the body side 5S mount. The transaxle mounts didn't even get removed, since we reused it.

pintoBC_3sgte
07-30-2016, 01:05 AM
I must've been inside making pulled pork when this happened. Don't remember seeing it haha

celica91gts
08-01-2016, 12:58 PM
I feel bad for just now seeing this thread. If it's anything like my motor/car, you unbolt the metal that the mount connects to(on the block) and replace it with the one from your old engine.

Yeah, had to pull the motor back out. it was all good after that.