PDA

View Full Version : New to car world

jdang000
06-05-2015, 11:08 PM
So I plan on buying a toyota celica around me but most of them are well over 150k miles but the cost is where I like. it ranges from around 3000 to 4000 dollars in Pennsylvania and I would like to know what should I be looking out for when buying a used celica that has such miles ! I'm new to this whole thing and plan on tuning the car but I'm not an enthusiast so I have very little knowledge about how to upgrade or what's important to work on first. if someone has the time to go down with basics with me, I'd be greatly appreciated! I love celicas and it's always been my dream to own one and make it sound nice but also able perform as well as it looks ! I know the GTS is a lot better but I plan on looking for a GT due to financial reasons

The Captain
06-06-2015, 05:17 PM
Welcome. What years are you looking at?

jdang000
06-06-2015, 06:26 PM
2000 to 2005

The Captain
06-06-2015, 07:36 PM
Ah 7th gen. Personally not an expert on those. There are plenty here though.

crymson
06-09-2015, 04:05 AM
Don't bother with the GT, you want the GTS. The engine in the GTs before 2003 have oil consumption problems, and they're anemic. It's worth the money to get the GTS.

if you go for the GTS there's a couple of things to consider. The 00-01s engage lift sooner than the later one, with the 03 engaging last. The 03+ had glass sunroofs, and an leveling factory HID option.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

jdang000
06-11-2015, 03:22 AM
I've been meaning to look for a gts but there aren't really good ones in my area. What should I be looking out for when I buy a celica ?

crymson
06-11-2015, 05:26 AM