PDA

View Full Version : No 1st or 2nd gear



Azzazzyn
03-25-2015, 04:04 AM
96 celica ST

Old transmission was trash, new/used transmission in. Only one problem, we basically can't get into 1st or 2nd. When taking the shifter over into what should be first or 2nd, it goes into gear but, its 3rd and 4th gear that it goes into. It goes in smooth and everything, just not sure why we can't get into 1st and 2nd.

When taking the shifter over to 5th or reverse, you get that little bit of resistance from the shifter in the spring, but going over to 1st or 2nd, there is no spring resistance. What do?

Murgatroy
03-25-2015, 04:06 AM
Sounds like a cable/linkage issue. Are you sure your cables are installed correctly?

Azzazzyn
03-25-2015, 12:52 PM
no, because time constraints and trying to get to dragon and stuffs, we didn't do the work. I'm about to go out and check it all out. When we took the car home from the shop, i told my brother I am 99% positive we dont have 1st gear here. He texted his mechanic and the mechanic said he didn't notice any issue. It was pretty much from the word jump that I notice it wasnt 1st gear, and if this mechanic couldn't tell when he test drove it after doing the work, that worries me. He's an american muscle guy, but I don't think thats a valid excuse if it is something he screwed up. We didn't have 1st or 3rd when we bought the car, which is why the new tranny was brought it. His mechanic said he will look at it saturday as soon as he has a chance. Pbear told me a couple things to look for until then.

The Captain
03-25-2015, 01:08 PM
+1 on a cable issue. Wonder what those shift bushings look like.....

4thgenceli
03-25-2015, 03:36 PM
Yeah +1 on Murgy & Captain. If the up/down movement works (which by you saying 3rd/4th are fine) I would guess either the left/right cable is either damaged or not installed correctly.

Azzazzyn
03-26-2015, 04:06 AM
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/9/6/image_652341.jpg

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/9/6/image_327076.jpg

4thgenceli
03-26-2015, 04:20 PM
Hard to tell but looks like they're connected...?

Did one of you try to put it in first while the other watches what's happening on the selector assembly?

Azzazzyn
03-26-2015, 05:02 PM
Not yet. about to.

Azzazzyn
03-26-2015, 06:29 PM
ok, 2 videos, one of the cables going through gears, 2nd is an atrocious noise coming from the car while running. sounds like a dry tranny to me, but I don't know what the hell I'm doing. Turn down the volume cuz they are loud and my voice sounds more faggy than normal.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8sANs0RMd4&feature=youtu.be


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDeZM3SfMMI&feature=youtu.be

if anyone wants to be a doll and diagnose these, i'd love you forever

underscore
03-26-2015, 11:39 PM
Sounds like when I lost a retaining clip on one of the shifter cables on the Prelude, check that the cable housings aren't moving around and that one of the cables isn't stretched. If someone watches the selector on the trans while someone else moves the shifter in the car you should be able to figure out where it needs to move to get into first by moving the selector on the trans manually, if you can get first that way the it's a cable issue.

Shadowlife25
03-27-2015, 12:46 AM
Don't forget the stupid sugar cube thing that wears down and affects the linkage as well.

Luni
03-27-2015, 08:38 PM
Azzy, neither picture shows me what I need to see.

In your pic that shows the shifter cable, the piece that the cable connects to, the TOP of the transmission looking DOWN from the engine bay, there should be 2 bolts.

Also, if you think your shit is dry, check your fluid. There should be a fluid level bolt in there also thats about midway up looking at it from the bottom.