PDA

View Full Version : Experience with low profile, powered, enclosed subs

CollapsedNut
12-16-2014, 01:04 AM
Stuff like this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BO8O9XQ/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A5ZRC4DPYV13E

I wanna get the lows away from my components, and I don't want to have ANYTHING in my trunk. Putting something like this under the seat, maybe even one under both driver and passenger sounds like a nice idea, but I'm really questioning the ability of these type units. I don't need thump, I need the ability to cleanly reproduce sustained lows under 50hz. I realize it's not going to be anywhere near what say a 12" in a properly sized and ported box could do, but do you think these could provide some decent coverage of the 30-50hz range?

Murgatroy
12-16-2014, 01:07 AM
Kenwood makes decent stuff, but if it were my money I would go with Infinity's Basslink, because Infinity.

Other than to critique the brand, I have no experience or anything else to offer.

http://www.amazon.com/Infinity-Basslink-200-Watt-10-Inch-Subwoofer/dp/B000063TJY/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1418691937&sr=1-1&keywords=basslink

CollapsedNut
12-16-2014, 01:12 AM
The basslink is one I eyeballed, but it's too large for under seat mounting.

Luni
12-16-2014, 08:03 PM
What car is this for?

Murgatroy
12-16-2014, 09:03 PM
Probably his soccer mom mobile 4Runner.

Shadowlife25
12-16-2014, 09:30 PM
If you don't want your components to play low frequencies, then you need a crossover, not a sub woofer.

That thing you listed is smaller than a 6x9" and you aren't going to get any real low end out of it. Especially not in the 30-50Hz range.
Sorry bud but this is a case where size definitely matters. a 4x7" driver is not going to do what you want.

The Infinity BassLink is a solid option for a sub, but as you do not want anything in the trunk....

CollapsedNut
12-17-2014, 01:59 PM
It's for the t4r yeah. Basslink is to many large.

Luni
12-17-2014, 10:47 PM