PDA

View Full Version : 3sgte PS pump vacuume lines st184 to jdm sw20 conversion set up



Huaraches
10-18-2014, 02:22 AM
well as many newbees to swaps like me might run into i came across this issue and that is how do i knoe where to connect my vacuum lines so i can run my 5sfe PS pump on my 3sgte from a jdm sw20.

Smaay
10-22-2014, 02:25 PM
look at how they are hooked up on your 5S-FE. Personally I wouldnt even use them.

Huaraches
10-23-2014, 08:36 AM
I did try looking on how they were but 3s manifold is a bit diff with its lines and not sure how to cancel pwr steering and not sure if I want that

lamont
10-23-2014, 07:59 PM
The problem is not all MR2's were equipped with power steering, so there won't be lines to tie into. You can buy a ST185 intake manifold with all the hard-lines and it will include the power steering vacuum lines as well. They run under the ST185 manifold and can be seen here:

http://i626.photobucket.com/albums/tt345/scruff69x/Transmission%20Parts/ST185powersteeringlines.jpg (http://s626.photobucket.com/user/scruff69x/media/Transmission%20Parts/ST185powersteeringlines.jpg.html)

alltracman78
10-23-2014, 08:11 PM
You don't need the whole manifold, you just need the line setup.

Huaraches
10-24-2014, 10:27 PM
yeah i have the hardlines from my 5s and was thinking of using that with the set up but i dont knoe where to get the diagram :/

Luni
10-25-2014, 04:16 AM
MR2 power steering is electronic so yeah.

It doesnt matter where you tap. Just tap into a clean vacuum source and youll be fine.

Huaraches
10-26-2014, 10:57 PM
MR2 power steering is electronic so yeah.

It doesnt matter where you tap. Just tap into a clean vacuum source and youll be fine.

lmao and im here worring about where to hook it up. in that case i have many options but were ever i connect it those that vacuum line need to pull vacuum into the manifold or have no vacuum?

Luni
10-27-2014, 01:17 AM
It needs to be a direct vacuum line into the manifold or someplace behind the throttle plate. Again, it doesnt matter where you connect it, as long as its a VACUUM line.