PDA

View Full Version : Does a 92 celica gts have dual speed fans?

wild03
08-31-2014, 02:41 AM
Hi all,

I'm trying to troubleshot a not so cold AC issue on a 1992 celica ST. 1.6L

my brother and I did the a134 conversion more than 10 years ago, no problem since.

We have determined that the compressor is not pulling optimal pressures so it will need replacing.

But we noticed the condenser fan not running at full speed when AC is on.
my brother says that the condenser fan should run at full speed when the AC is on because back in 1992 they didn't have dual speeds, right now the fan sometimes is LOW and sometimes HIGH. is this normal? does these cars have dual speed fans?

Thanks in advance.

METDeath
08-31-2014, 03:30 AM
Before you go replacing parts, are you possibly low on refrigerant?

wild03
08-31-2014, 04:24 PM
Thanks for the prompt reply. BTW celica is an ST

Brother is a mechanic by trade, he hooked up the gauges and he said this was not the case. he said that the pressures were not where they should be.

Ebay has the compressor for $68 which is incredible. It has no clutch, is this hard to swap? I have puller and I'm sure brother has other tools at the shop.

Thanks.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-A-C-AC-Compressor-Toyota-Celica-97-96-95-94-93-92-91-90-Corolla-89-88-Truck-/370624873543?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&fits=Year%3A1992|Make%3AToyota|Model%3ACelica|Subm odel%3AST|Engine+-+Liter_Display%3A1.6L&hash=item564af6c447&vxp=mtr

4thgenceli
08-31-2014, 05:07 PM
If it's a dual speed fan there'll usually be 3 wires and not just 2.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

wild03
09-01-2014, 03:56 PM
If it's a dual speed fan there'll usually be 3 wires and not just 2.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Thanks, There are 2 wires on this fan. my guess is that they could be pulse modulating the signal and still get away with two wires.

I get the same voltage of a little over 13v regardless of whether it is running slow or fast.