PDA

View Full Version : Oil pressure gauge



jdm_celica_gts
01-19-2014, 06:39 AM
Can you unplug the oil pressure sender that plugs into the head, and hook up an oil pressure gauge there instead? Or do you need that to stay hooked up?

4thgenceli
01-19-2014, 05:08 PM
It can be removed. I've installed an aftermarket oil pressure sending unit into the factory oil pressure sensor on ST215, 3sfe and 3sge with no issues. Just makes sure you get the proper fittings & adapters to convert the thread pitch correctly and use plenty of thread tape.

jdm_celica_gts
01-19-2014, 08:06 PM
Alright cool. I'll order the adapter then

Nitro_Alltrac
01-19-2014, 09:34 PM
On mine, a OP owner had installed a T fitting that has the light switch on one side and the gauge sending unit on the other. It works fine and you've got a back up. Although, it seems like if the light comes on it's pretty much too late most of the time.

4thgenceli
01-19-2014, 10:10 PM
That's how i did my ST215 swap. I stuck a T-fitting on a length of hose and had the stock + aftermarket gauges. Worked ok, but just showed how crappy the stock one was. lol.

C-dubb
02-22-2014, 12:18 AM
If you're having trouble finding a thread adapter for the standard thread sending unit, like I was, look at your local hydraulic hardware outfitters. 1/8th" to BPT (British Pipe Thread) is what got the job done for mine.

jdm_celica_gts
02-22-2014, 01:28 AM
Glowshift sells the adapter I need.
I might try a hydraulic shop tho, I didn't think about that.