PDA

View Full Version : help getting a whilteine rear swaybar in

crymson
08-21-2013, 06:18 AM
So, i got my stock sway bar out easy enough. wheels off, endlinks off, and now I can't get the whiteline in. It seems like I need to do one or more of the following to make it work: remove the exhaust, lower the rear differential, remove one or both of the tie rods?(I'm not good with suspension parts, the ones towards the center of the car that run mostly north/south), or remove the strut and coil spring from at least one side. Am i just looking at this wrong?

I believe that I have an aftermarket exhaust, I can't find anywhere to disconnect it south of the exhaust header.

ChrisD
08-21-2013, 01:46 PM
wiggle wiggle twist wiggle wiggle. That seems to be the way. Try going in from the opposite side of the car. It's possible, sometimes not especially easy. Strut/spring assembly is probably easiest to move if something has to move.

4thgenceli
08-21-2013, 02:00 PM
I had to slightly drop the tank to put one on.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4 Beta

Galcobar
08-21-2013, 05:17 PM
I had to slightly drop the tank to put one on.

Also true when installing the naturally-aspirated version.

Car_Barn_Bandit
08-21-2013, 10:00 PM
I disconnected the tank straps and placed the tank on a jack stand. Watch your old brake lines.

With your suspension hanging, you'll rub the bar on the struts. Might be a good idea to lift those up and compress the springs a little.

celica9303
08-22-2013, 05:09 AM
Alltrac or na Celica?

crymson
08-22-2013, 11:02 AM
It's an alltrac. Thought I put that in, my bad

4thgenceli
08-22-2013, 08:21 PM
We're just stupid. Its in the alltrac section.

You will just need to play with it. Aside from completely removing everything it just takes patience and finesse to get it in. The na models dropping the tank slightly always helped.

ChrisD
08-23-2013, 12:50 AM