PDA

View Full Version : 1990 celica st turbo



matthew rankin
08-17-2013, 04:43 AM
Alright, ive thought about it and thought about . I think i want to to turbo it. What and all do I need? I just want to run probably around jist 7 or 8 psi max. And is itpossible to get about 170hp on stock internals andlow boost?

grimmythereaper
08-17-2013, 06:44 AM
i was in the same boat for a long time when i had my ST celica (4afe) after reading and reading and reading some more, i found out the stock internails are not stong at all. There is also a lot of ppl that say the late 93 4afe beefed up the interinals to early 4age interinals but those are still weak, stonger but weak. to be honest there is no way to get 170 hp on a 4afe w/o spending a crap ton of money. if you wanna however still turbo it i would use a 4agze bottom end (block with all the interinals) with a 4afe head and aftermarket ecu of some kind. but the best option would be just to swap in a 3sgte if u are stuck on the turbo idea, it is best bang for buck.

matthew rankin
08-17-2013, 06:59 AM
Well, i looked online and priced gze pistons and rods anda full turbo kit for around 1400 dollars. Or could i do a 4age swap cheaper?

grimmythereaper
08-17-2013, 04:06 PM
Well, i looked online and priced gze pistons and rods anda full turbo kit for around 1400 dollars. Or could i do a 4age swap cheaper?

to honest a redtop 4age swap to me wouldnt be worth it bc you would only gain a few HP and 1k rpms b4 the motor hits redline, you could do a 4age silvertop swap for around that price if you do the work your self. and get the same amount of HP that your tying to get from the turbo 4afe setup. The silvertop also has a redline of around 8k rpms. or u could do a 4agze swap and get around 150 HP with a lot more tourqe in the lower rpm range you would loose the high redline that the silvertop gives.

matthew rankin
08-17-2013, 11:34 PM
How hard is it to do the swap?

grimmythereaper
08-18-2013, 01:07 AM
How hard is it to do the swap?

depends on ur lvl of skill and what motor you put into the car. if you put in another toyota "A" series motor you would basically need to wire up the car. If you put in a toyota "S" series engine you would have to change the motor mount location on the pass. side of the car, get a new transmission, get new half-shafts and also do some wiring.

matthew rankin
08-18-2013, 03:54 AM
So a silver top swap is just straight bolt in other than wiring?

grimmythereaper
08-18-2013, 04:05 AM
So a silver top swap is just straight bolt in other than wiring?

the only other thing i can think of would be that the pass. side mount would have to come off of the 4afe and put onto the silvertop so that side mount can fit into the motor mounting bracket. i say that BC thats what has to be done to fit in the 4agze.

matthew rankin
08-18-2013, 04:45 AM
Oh so you dont have to fab anything?

grimmythereaper
08-18-2013, 08:34 AM
Oh so you dont have to fab anything?

shouldnt have to

matthew rankin
08-18-2013, 10:01 AM
Ok, whats the best 4age?mainly price wise and reliability.

grimmythereaper
08-18-2013, 06:16 PM
Ok, whats the best 4age?mainly price wise and reliability.

the best one for power is the blacktop, but its not cheap and it has its quirks. For the price the best one would be the silvertop.

matthew rankin
08-18-2013, 10:34 PM
Ok, so what do i need to make sure the engine comes with when i buy it? Ecu?

mar_phi6
08-18-2013, 10:47 PM
Its cheaper to buy another 5th gen with the 2.2 motor and swap it to the 3sgte

grimmythereaper
08-19-2013, 06:30 AM
Ok, so what do i need to make sure the engine comes with when i buy it? Ecu?

engine, harness, ecu. ake sure to get as much of the extra engine stuff you can such alternator, distrupter, etc, BC those will be a bitch to find in the states BC we never got the silvertop

Doowstados
08-22-2013, 10:57 AM
Its cheaper to buy another 5th gen with the 2.2 motor and swap it to the 3sgte

Eh, you could probably find a front clip with a 4age/everything you need for less.

matthew rankin
08-28-2013, 06:44 PM
Ok, well im getting a 4 age out of 89 mr2. Itsnt that the.blue top or red top? And is the swap the same as the silver top?

grimmythereaper
08-30-2013, 05:16 AM
Yeah the swap is the same, iirc its the bluetop, and the later 4age bluetop motors have bigger valves :)

david in germany
08-30-2013, 11:34 AM
This may sound a bit rude but if cost is a consideration, why not just search for a gt or gts used. It has the better engine and down the road you will have a lot less headaches with it. Buying a gt may cost you less than any of the swaps, you just need to look for a good deal.

The St is a very ballanced ride as it is and with light suspension mods will eat a lot of cars for much more money in the curves. It is an economical well built sporty car as it is built. Minor engine mods have their falts and most of the time cost you power in long run. Trust me, I spent a lot of time and money on my st and when it sold it was the best it could have been and it had stock style exhaust, stock intake, mostly stock suspension (but H&R springs). Car ran great, was quick and really dependable.

Mods that I waisted money on;
Header-caused a loss at low and high end power
Intake- sounded cool but loss of power at top end
Exhaust- loss of power at low end
Cat delete- loss of power at low end

Mods that helped performance;
K&N drop in filter
Big 3 power and ground wire upgrade (stabilized voltage to the ecu)
Fresh NGK plugs
Fresh Oem plug wires and cap (stick with Oem)
Fresh oil (I had good luck with royal purple but will no longer use it after finding German castrol) only with Oem filter
Best of luck with whatever you decide to do.

matthew rankin
09-04-2013, 02:30 AM
ok, well im getting a 1987 bigport with smallport intake. it doesn't come with wiring harness or ecu. how hard is it gonna be to swap it into my 4afe? or is there a website that does conversions?

Doowstados
09-09-2013, 09:50 AM
If you're not looking to really get much more power out of it I'd agree with David. Sell it and find a GT or GT-S, or keep the 4AFE and upgrade your suspension.

grimmythereaper
09-12-2013, 01:53 AM
like i alrdy said the most you will get is a longer redline and only by 1000 rpms which can be a lot only if the power is increased as well the thing about the the 4age is it has no low end power, but on the plus side the 4age has a crap ton of aftermarket suport. dr tweak will make a wireharness for your swap al u have to do is send him the 4age harness and the 4afe harness. but find out what the motor came out off and get the ecu and harness for that car