PDA

View Full Version : Best way to wire in an amplifier to a stock assembly



4thgenceli
07-08-2013, 04:28 AM
I have this sub & amp I would like to throw into this truck. I'm going to buy a 12" truck box so it'll fit behind the seats (it's only a single cab). I don't want to yank out the factory head unit yet. What would be the best way to wire it in?

Tap into the rear speaker wires (bridged), convert into a RCA signal then use the amp in a low filter only?

METDeath
07-08-2013, 06:00 AM
Edit... misread that.
Do no bridge the connection, any solid speaker to line level converter will be stereo anyway, just run a stereo RCA cable into your amp and let it do the summing and LPF.

4thgenceli
07-08-2013, 03:47 PM
I don't have RCA outputs on the stock head unit.

MCcelica
07-08-2013, 04:31 PM
Buy a head unit with the outputs. You'll thank me later.

METDeath
07-08-2013, 06:14 PM
I don't have RCA outputs on the stock head unit.

Which part of good line level converter did you misunderstand?

Unless your amplifier you pick out has speaker level inputs you will need one.

Or just replace the HU and run an RCA stereo cable to the amp.

4thgenceli
07-08-2013, 06:41 PM
All of the above :)


I'd like a new head unit, but the again it's just a truck. I would like a bit more bass than what's in there. Gotta get my redneck on :P I have two amps, a Fosgate 200a4 (with speaker level inputs) and some vr2 amp that came with the subs. Don't remember if that has speakers in or not (pretty sure not).

Luni
07-09-2013, 06:22 AM
Tim get a new fucking headunit. Even a cheap 100-150 dollar one. It will sound LIGHTYEARS better. (unless you have premium sound in there, in which case it will be a PITA for you to wire up)

When you use speaker level inputs you LOSE the speaker that was on the other end of the input. You cant just tap into your speaker wire and run both (well you can, but it will put a double load on your head unit, and the signal will be weak and the speaker will distort)

Line level converters suck balls. They also affect your overall sound because they are pulling voltage away from your speakers so they will muddy your sound up more.

david in germany
07-09-2013, 09:22 AM
If you are stuck with the stock deck by choice or not look for a MTX R-EQ (you may find one on ebay) or a simple PAC line output converter (cheaper than R-EQ but solid) http://www.amazon.com/PAC-SNI35-Adjustable-2-Channel-Converter/dp/B001EAWS3W/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1373358069&sr=1-1&keywords=pac+line+out+converter

4thgenceli
07-09-2013, 03:56 PM
The truck is inherited from my father inlaw. He just bought a 'new'(used) Ford F350 superduty 4x4 and gave the Dodge to me. He needed a 4x4 to handle the roads/mud/snow during the winter and monsoon months. It has just the stock factory Dodge radio in it right now. It's ok, but I'd like a little more bass. I think my little 200w amp and a single 12" will give me what I like.

I'd rather avoid getting a single DIN radio just for aesthetics.

//EDIT//

Damn, prices freaking FELL for double DIN units.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Pioneer+-+50W+x+4+MOSFET+Apple%26%23174%3B+iPod%26%23174%3B-Ready+In-Dash+CD+Deck/6261746.p?id=1218725174656&skuId=6261746

That'll do everything I want and it's decently priced. New head unit here I come!

Luni
07-09-2013, 06:19 PM
Tim, Dodge headunits arent true doubledin. They are a different size. You really should go with a single din unit IMO.

METDeath
07-09-2013, 06:21 PM
Until it doesn't fit because you have to cut a bracket, but yeah, probably.

Luni
07-09-2013, 11:07 PM
Marshall are you talking to me?

Ive installed single din headunits in 2 different dodge trucks. You buy the dash kit, wiring harness adapter, wire it, and plug and play.

METDeath
07-09-2013, 11:08 PM
Marshall are you talking to me?

Ive installed single din headunits in 2 different dodge trucks. You buy the dash kit, wiring harness adapter, wire it, and plug and play.

Sorry, was thinking of GMC/Chevy

underscore
07-12-2013, 04:55 AM
The truck is inherited from my father inlaw. He just bought a 'new'(used) Ford F350 superduty 4x4 and gave the Dodge to me. He needed a 4x4 to handle the roads/mud/snow during the winter and monsoon months. It has just the stock factory Dodge radio in it right now. It's ok, but I'd like a little more bass. I think my little 200w amp and a single 12" will give me what I like.

I'd rather avoid getting a single DIN radio just for aesthetics.

//EDIT//

Damn, prices freaking FELL for double DIN units.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Pioneer+-+50W+x+4+MOSFET+Apple%26%23174%3B+iPod%26%23174%3B-Ready+In-Dash+CD+Deck/6261746.p?id=1218725174656&skuId=6261746

That'll do everything I want and it's decently priced. New head unit here I come!

Holy dead space on that HU batman

METDeath
07-13-2013, 02:33 AM
Holy dead space on that HU batman

Plus it's ugly...

underscore
07-13-2013, 05:51 AM
I was trying to be nice but yeah, tis hideous. Mostly due to all that wasted space and oversized buttons used in a failed attempt to fill said space.

Maybe it's for seniors?

4thgenceli
07-17-2013, 10:12 PM
I'm going to have to re-think this now.

I took a good look at the Dodge today. It's not a double, it's a 1.5 din unit. I'll need to check out the units now to make sure they'll fit.