PDA

View Full Version : Engine Remanufactured Drop in Questions.

DanteDemont
03-31-2013, 08:14 PM
First off what's the best spark plug recommended for a 90 GTS sport celica?

Like I've had iridiums but I heard theirs a cheaper plug that runs better in our car.

Anyways I need to know a list of what I have to rebuy after I drop in the block.

Like gaskets, water pump ect...

I'm new at this an I think it would be easier to put alot of the parts on when the engines out but what all has/should be replaced?

Can I get a list I know it might be alot.
Thanks!!

l0ch0w
03-31-2013, 09:26 PM
NGK coppers. I know us turbo guys use heat range 7, but I think you probably ought to be using 5's or 6's. Not sure though.

grifter30
04-03-2013, 04:45 PM
There's other threads on here with a "what should I do with the engine out" list, but here's a quick list off the top of my head. Feel free to do a couple of searches to get additional input.me that

I'm going to assume that you're getting a used engine that runs and you're wanting to spruce the thing up so that it's just more reliable.
- Head gasket
- *valve cover gasket
- *rear main seal
- *oil pump + seals - I've seen a lot of people recommend an oil pump from a 98, but I'm not sure why.
- *water pump + seals
- *timing belt
- *timing belt cover gaskets
- *reseal oil pan
- exhaust manifold gasket
- intake manifold gasket
- throttle body gasket
- EGR gasket (or delete - there's a thread for this)
- *new thermostat
- new/rebuild power steering pump
- replace power steering hoses
- replace vacuum hoses
- Engine mounts

The ones with asterisks(*) are the one's I'd consider higher priority because they are relatively easy and can be a pain to replace when the engine is in the car and they represent things that can cause engine damage if they go out or stop working.