PDA

View Full Version : The Garage itself...



l0ch0w
03-27-2013, 06:09 AM
So, i know i may have posted these pics before... but I figured that I could show a bit of chronology in the transformation my garage has made in the last year... I thought it was a bit rediculous...
http://imageshack.us/a/img837/4851/imag0152cp.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img109/8907/dsc0012ns.jpg
http://imageshack.us/a/img21/5634/dsc0036zx.jpg

Im in the process of cleaning it up now... so Ill have pics tomorrow afternoon when im done... Its kind of rediculous how this thing has morphed.

MCcelica
03-27-2013, 07:43 AM
Mine has done the same since I have a 6th gen in there that doesn't move. Lol

vip09
03-27-2013, 07:58 AM
I should post a pic of mine.. it's BAD!!

l0ch0w
03-27-2013, 08:29 AM
Do it! I'm sure you have wire everywhere right about now...

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

KoreanJoey
03-27-2013, 09:34 AM
Wow, makes me feel better about mine.

Hookecho
03-27-2013, 12:56 PM
I'll take a cluttered shop over a gravel driveway on a cold and rainy day.

T-spoon
03-27-2013, 03:22 PM
I'll take a cluttered shop over a gravel driveway on a cold and rainy day.

Word.

l0ch0w
03-27-2013, 03:42 PM
That third pic was the worst it got a few months ago its much cleaner now.

Best part is that its heated, so when its snowing out I'm not freezing, I really hate working outside now unless the weather is perfect...

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

4thgenceli
03-27-2013, 03:54 PM
I don't have this luxury thing called a 'garage'. When I bought Jasmine, I was renting a house in BFE that had a garage. Now that we moved, this house doesn't have a garage. I pull it around back to the patio.

CriScO
03-27-2013, 04:31 PM
Amateur. I can only fit half the car in mine and can't find my tools.

vip09
03-27-2013, 07:14 PM
This is why I had to work on the Alltrac out in the dirt... It took a lot of work to be able to fit my MR2 in there with all this damn junk. If it was up to me I would rent an open top dumpster and trash 90% of this stuff.



http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/vip09/SAM_0408Medium.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/vip09/SAM_0412Medium.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/vip09/SAM_0415Medium.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/vip09/SAM_0417Medium.jpg

http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e6/vip09/SAM_0419Medium.jpg

underscore
03-27-2013, 07:45 PM
Those make my garage look a lot better. When I move I'm getting tonnes of shelving, my biggest problem is I have nowhere to put stuff so it ends up in piles on the ground like in vip's pics.

donteatbugs
03-27-2013, 08:25 PM
http://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/p206x206/530375_10151424787434554_1185273042_n.jpg

Its not heated or cooled :(

vip09
03-27-2013, 08:27 PM
race cars only!

rizin
03-27-2013, 09:50 PM
Ya it is heated in the summer cooled in the winter.

Hookecho
03-27-2013, 10:22 PM
Damn Ben, you're moving on up.

MCcelica
03-28-2013, 06:02 AM
Yeah... Mine isn't heated either. Worse still is the electrical is kind of a clusterf*#k too. There is no 220, so not even a chance for a welder, and if my compressor is on, nothing else in the garage can be as there is only one usable power outlet. Lol I gotta unplug my beer fridge to do ANYTHING. Lol but alas. Nobody gives a shit how cold it is in there if you have beer... as long as you don't have to walk around the side my 6th gen is on.

KoreanJoey
03-28-2013, 07:01 AM
Wire in your own 220 noob.

MCcelica
03-28-2013, 07:47 AM
Wire in your own 220 noob.

Give me some time.

KoreanJoey
03-28-2013, 08:10 AM
It really isn't hard. You got this. Just don't zap yourself with it. I hear it is unpleasant.

Doowstados
03-28-2013, 10:53 AM
When I did my engine and transmission swaps I had a single car garage with two feet in front of the car occupied by my compressor, one foot on either side of the car to get access to the wheels and that was it. Fun times.

Now I have no garage and live full time in an apartment.

l0ch0w
03-28-2013, 05:35 PM
I know what its like to have to swap an engine outside... it sucks balls... When i last lived in colorado, I did an engine swap in the snow. I was outside for like 2 days straight trying to finish it so I could drive home for christmas break.

Jumping from that to a heated garage w/ 220 and plenty of space was quite nice.

KoreanJoey
03-28-2013, 05:40 PM
I love my shop.

CriScO
03-28-2013, 05:41 PM
I know what its like to have to swap an engine outside... it sucks balls... When i last lived in colorado, I did an engine swap in the snow. I was outside for like 2 days straight trying to finish it so I could drive home for christmas break.

Jumping from that to a heated garage w/ 220 and plenty of space was quite nice.
Better than the gas station parking lot. ;)

l0ch0w
03-28-2013, 06:28 PM
Better than the gas station parking lot. ;)

Wait, were u there when that happened?

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2

CriScO
03-28-2013, 06:53 PM
Wait, were u there when that happened?

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
Nah, you stopped by the store and told me about it while it was stuck there.

MCcelica
03-28-2013, 07:10 PM
It really isn't hard. You got this. Just don't zap yourself with it. I hear it is unpleasant.

The trick with it is, if I'm going to wire in a 220, I'm also going to overhaul the entire garage electrical in conjunction with it. The entire garage is unfinished which means that you can look around and see what a rats nest it is. When I say I have one usable power outlet, I mean the one on the firewall between the garage and the house has the only one. There is sort of another one by the driver side of the 6th gen where I can't really get to it, but also that outlet consists of a power strip that is hard wired into a beefed up extension cord which travels up to a ceiling mounted 110 power outlet where it literally plugs in. Also, my Fluorescent lights are tethered to a light switch, BUT... they are plug in lights that are always "on", you just flip the switch to turn the 110 power outlet that they're plugged into on. All you gotta do is look up to see how much of a mess it is. I'm probably just going to rip all of it out except the one usable outlet, lights and all and start over. Lights will get their own circuit, the one usable outlet will stay on the circuit it's on, and I'll put in four more additional usable 110's on their own circuit. Then add a 220 over that.

Then after the electrical is fixed, I'll at least insulate the garage, because it gets colder than a grave-digger's soul in the winter, and hotter than satan's butthole in the summer. But I gotta fix the electrical first, otherwise I won't be able to power a space heater in the winter, or a fan in the summer while doing other things without poppin' breakers. I probably won't add central heat or AC to the garage, cause that would waste money, and I'd have to punch through concrete or split from the bedroom to do it.

l0ch0w
03-28-2013, 07:25 PM
Nah, you stopped by the store and told me about it while it was stuck there.

That's right, turned out to be the dang distributor...

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2