PDA

View Full Version : Help me pick my first competition tires?

Lonestag
09-18-2012, 05:30 AM
I am a slow learner.
I'm a thorough learner, but I'm slow.

I've been doing light autocross in the Tercel for the last two years.
Now that Ash has a new daily, I plan on transferring track duty to her Paseo.

I'm going to need tires.

I don't know what I'm looking at, I do know I want about as much tire as I can get in street touring class, so something at least 200mm wide.

Looking at tirerack.com this is the wheel tire combo I came up with wrapping these tires

http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/WheelCloseUpServlet?target=runWheelSearch&autoMake=Toyota&autoModel=Paseo&autoYear=1996&autoModClar=&initialPartNumber=TS005LG&i1_Qty=4&wheelMake=Kosei&wheelModel=K1+TS&wheelFinish=Light+Grey+Painted&wheelFinish=Light+Grey+Painted&showRear=no&dtab=OptionalHardware

In this rubber,

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Toyo&tireModel=Proxes+R888&partnum=95VR5R888&i1_Qty=4&autoMake=Toyota&autoModel=Paseo&autoYear=1996&autoModClar=&vehicleSearch=true

I have no idea if that is an informed decision or completly retarded.

These tires-wheels will be track use only, so thats not a problem.

The car is a 96 Paseo.
Any help, much appreciated.

Slider
09-18-2012, 02:42 PM
Street Touring is street tires only. For a sticky street tire I would recommend the Toyo R1R in the 195 variant. The Star Spec is also a great tire but the 195 R1R has a really soft compound, it's actually softer than their 225 R1R which is odd. A ton of cars in the nationals were running the 195 R1R. There's actually talks of the 195 R1R being banned for next year. So if that happens I would say the Star Specs or RE-11 will be a good choice. You're just going to use the tire in autocross correct?

Lonestag
09-18-2012, 05:56 PM
You of course are correct, I was still thinking about stock class where the tires are open I think.

Tires will be autocross and maybe an occaional drag only.