PDA

View Full Version : straight intake, battery, and clocking turbo



jdm_celica_gts
07-05-2012, 07:07 AM
Where did people get there straight intakes, or are they all custom?

Will the battery still fit in the engine bay when you switch the intake and battery?

Can you just clock the turbo or do you need a special braket for the wastegate? Where do you get one?

lalojamesliz
07-05-2012, 08:36 AM
I had to make my own straight intake but I don't think you can buy them. I had to buy a adapter to connect my intake to the afm
I don't remember if I had the battery up front when I had the straight intake :(
you need to make a bracket to mount the wastegate if you clock the turbo. If anyone can make them and sell them I would buy one since I see a fmic in my future

4thgenceli
07-05-2012, 04:36 PM
I have done all of the above.

I clocked the turbo to save on piping bends and overall engine bay appearance (even though mine still looks like crap). With that turbo you have, you should be able to clock it and just just some simple steel stock to make your bracket (there's 3 holes if I'm remembering right) to hang off the lower 2. Mine I had to custom make a complete bracket as I only had 2 holes to mount to.

Here's after I clocked the housing. You can see the 2 holes I have to mount to. Pretty sure you have a 3rd one.

http://ourlewisfamily.net/gallery/../content/Jasmine/normal_turbo_clocked3.JPG (http://ourlewisfamily.net/gallery/../content/Jasmine/turbo_clocked3.JPG)

With the wastegate just hanging out where it needs to mount.

http://ourlewisfamily.net/gallery/../content/Jasmine/normal_wastegate.JPG (http://ourlewisfamily.net/gallery/../content/Jasmine/wastegate.JPG)

Kinda bad picture but I can find a better one later.. It's 1/4" aluminum stock that my old neighbor milled for me based on a template I gave him.

http://ourlewisfamily.net/gallery/../content/Jasmine/normal_wastegate_bracket_done.JPG (http://ourlewisfamily.net/gallery/../content/Jasmine/wastegate_bracket_done.JPG)


Here's how it looks from the side with the intake on it.

http://ourlewisfamily.net/content/Jasmine/normal_IMG_0041.JPG



I'm looking for a thread I made a while ago about the basics of clocking a turbo. As far as your intake goes, with the stock battery location you'll need to do a real short ram air. Or just relocate the battery, get a uber small one or use the stock location for your intake and use some bracket/adapter to get a different filter.

4thgenceli
07-05-2012, 04:49 PM
Here's the thread.

I'll figure out WTF happened to all the pictures and get them re-uploaded.

http://www.celicatech.com/forums/showthread.php?49572-Wastegate-actuator-bracket-for-clocked-turbo-v.pics-amp-measurements&highlight=

jdm_celica_gts
07-05-2012, 06:45 PM
I can see the braket but where is the wastegate located?
Is there any way to make the ct26 external wastegated?
And for the battery, I was wondering if you can just switch locations from the battery and stock air box?
Just fab up a plate to hold it in place.

jdm_celica_gts
07-05-2012, 06:46 PM
I can see the braket but where is the wastegate located?
Is there any way to make the ct26 external wastegated?
And for the battery, I was wondering if you can just switch locations from the battery and stock air box?
Just fab up a plate to hold it in place.

4thgenceli
07-05-2012, 06:48 PM
http://ourlewisfamily.net/content/Jasmine/IMG_0041.JPG

Open that link. THere's the 2 bolts on the left that hold the bracket to the housing. Then on the right you see a nut and (not seen) is another nut just down and to the left. Those two are holding the wastegate on. The wastegate is on the other side of that bracket.

lalojamesliz
07-05-2012, 10:48 PM
thats all it is huh.... :)

jdm_celica_gts
07-06-2012, 03:48 AM
Hmm doesn't seem that hard to make. And if you don't set it right It will cause over boost or boost leak?

90GT2
07-06-2012, 09:22 PM
Is there any way to make the ct26 external wastegated?

This is do able but you would first need an adapter plate with a wastegate flange. You then need an external wastegate and a dump tube. Simply disconect the current internal wastegate so that is stays closed all the time and install the external one on the adapter plate.


And for the battery, I was wondering if you can just switch locations from the battery and stock air box?
Just fab up a plate to hold it in place.

The battery can be moved to where the stock air box is, I did it this way on my 90 gts. Just fab up some simple braket to hold it there and your good to go.

91Atrac
07-06-2012, 10:13 PM
Most or all of the intakes will be custom but simple with a straight piece of 3" pipe and 2 tubes for vacuum fittings.

The waste gate bracket will need to custom for sure. I'm looking into this right now as well for my rebuild project.

Not sure if I missed something but you will be deleting the maf right?


Sent from Qbabys Tapatalk.

jdm_celica_gts
07-06-2012, 10:47 PM
Not right now, just gonna extend the wires until I can upgrade to 3rd gen electronics.

91Atrac
07-06-2012, 11:33 PM
I've seen and know of a guy who has an extension if your interested. He's on the alltrac forum. Celi_wabbit I think is his username


Sent from Qbabys Tapatalk.

jdm_celica_gts
07-07-2012, 03:24 AM
Yeah if he is willing to sell it, just ask how much for shipping to 88220

91Atrac
07-07-2012, 07:47 AM
I'll send him over here for you and so forth. See him on ever so often. I'll keep you posted and hopefully you'll hear from him soon


Sent from Qbabys Tapatalk.

91Atrac
07-07-2012, 11:42 PM
Well I've let him know about you and he's gonna contact you I believe so hopefully it works out to buy his extension.


Sent from Qbabys Tapatalk.