PDA

View Full Version : Factory installed alarm system OMG....



l0ch0w
04-09-2012, 09:51 PM
So, i pulled out the factory installed alarm system in my alltrac last night...

Now, being a self proclaimed wiring afficionado, i must say this is quite possibly the worst botched up OEM installed piece of crap I have ever seen...

I didnt take many before pictures, because when I saw it I just saw red... and had to pull it out...

But the carnage afterwards can give you a pretty good idea...

Firstly, the harness for the factory alarm system is about 4 feet too long, so the OEM's just used some zip ties to wadd it all up and stuff it up under the dash... Heres how long it was...

http://img859.imageshack.us/img859/7055/imag0211b.jpg
By alochow (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/alochow) at 2012-04-09

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/6996/imag0212k.jpg
By alochow (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/alochow) at 2012-04-09

The main harness section can be completely eliminated actually... I remember driving and hitting a rats nest of wires under my kick panel every time i drove... it was annoying...

Worse yet were the splices used...


This one goes back to the rear hatch switch, the wire is completely loose the whole way back too... its not secured anywhere, and they used a piece of shit butt connector... butt connectors make me cry...
http://img845.imageshack.us/img845/1323/imag0208sc.jpg
By alochow (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/alochow) at 2012-04-09

then they used these pink 3m thingys (a little better than butt connectors) to splice into the steering column harness

http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/2429/imag0209v.jpg
By alochow (http://profile.imageshack.us/user/alochow) at 2012-04-09

Im going to still use this system, im just going to free up about 4 feet of that harness, shrink wrap it all, and tuck it so that i dont pull half of it out when my shoelace catches it...

alltracNyx
04-09-2012, 10:02 PM
Things like that make me cringe.

l0ch0w
04-09-2012, 10:41 PM
The cool thing is that the alarm ECU uses the same exact pins as the stock ECU, so ill just hit up Dr.Tweak for some new pins, cut out the wire i dont need, and repin it like stock :)

Shadowlife25
04-14-2012, 01:16 AM
hmm, perhaps grab a stock harness clip then repin so that all is on one harness into the mains. (soldered to pins of course ;) )
Looking forward to your progress!

l0ch0w
04-14-2012, 02:44 AM
hmm, perhaps grab a stock harness clip then repin so that all is on one harness into the mains. (soldered to pins of course ;) )
Looking forward to your progress!

^no offense, but thats even more ghetto than whats sitting in there now...

Most people think that soldering wires is a good idea... I dont... it makes the wire inflexible and brittle at the connection area. The only proper way to rewire is to use stock wire crimping tools and brand new pins. And clean wiring between each connection. I only splice wire as a last resort...

Those pink clips have already ruined the wire leading into the base of the steering column, So I am forced to leave it as is with the pink clips unfortunately, the act of taking them off will damage the wire even further. I simply cut the wire off with a few inches of play so that I can install a 2 pin deutsch connector in line so that the whole alarm system can be unplugged.

Shadowlife25
04-14-2012, 06:53 AM
^no offense, but thats even more ghetto than whats sitting in there now...

Most people think that soldering wires is a good idea... I dont... it makes the wire inflexible and brittle at the connection area. The only proper way to rewire is to use stock wire crimping tools and brand new pins. And clean wiring between each connection. I only splice wire as a last resort...

Those pink clips have already ruined the wire leading into the base of the steering column, So I am forced to leave it as is with the pink clips unfortunately, the act of taking them off will damage the wire even further. I simply cut the wire off with a few inches of play so that I can install a 2 pin deutsch connector in line so that the whole alarm system can be unplugged.

Lol ...ok .

Perhaps we simply misunderstood each other since it seems you misread into what my intention was, but I am certain that is my fault for not properly communicating my thoughts.

Best of luck.

l0ch0w
04-14-2012, 07:07 AM
^sorry for sounding like an ass... im really stressed with work and school :/

I am interested now to know what you meant by it?

MCcelica
04-14-2012, 07:54 AM
Both of yall are cool in my book, so lets just chill a minute.

I'm sure all Mario meant was to just replace the entire harness for one that was meant for one with an alarm system. In theory that would work well, but it would be a pain in the ass.

Andrew, I know in practice the correct solution may be... not practical. If it were me, I'd replace the entire wire in question, knowing it would be just as much of a PITA as replacing the entire harness. In which case, I'm confident in your abilities to solve this problem. You are a donating member, so I'm sure the wiring diagrams will be helpful to you. And I wish you luck.

l0ch0w
04-14-2012, 02:35 PM
^It was my understanding that all USDM alltracs came factory installed with alarm systems and keyless entry though? Aside from the 3 wires that are clearly installed using sub-standard methods, the rest of the alarm system is installed with a rather elegant, albeit excessively long, plug in harness.

Im curious as to whether or not everyone's factory installed harness looks like this...