PDA

View Full Version : 1MZ info



CollapsedNut
04-05-2012, 02:13 AM
I'm doing some digging still, but looking for information about running a 1MZ in a 162. I'm reading things about the ECU causing problems because it is made for automatic transmissioned cars, as well as using 22R rods?

If you know anything about running this engine and valve train upgrades post up and help me compile my info base.

alltracNyx
04-05-2012, 04:44 AM
One of our new members, kurt95gt, also on 6gc, has a 1mz swapped 6th gen that he's just finishing up. I'm not sure how much that will help you, but there should be some useful information in his build thread.

T-spoon
04-05-2012, 03:24 PM
I don't see why the transmission would be an issue. Lots of swaps use automatic trans ECUs with standard transmissions.. but, I don't know if there is something about the 1mz in particular that makes this troublesome. What's-his-name that I haven't seen around here for a while had a 5spd on his 1mz swapped 5g IIRC.

The Captain
04-05-2012, 06:36 PM
I've seen you drive. Just put the automatic in it.

CollapsedNut
04-05-2012, 11:13 PM
When have you seen me drive? Lies.

CollapsedNut
04-05-2012, 11:14 PM
I don't see why the transmission would be an issue. Lots of swaps use automatic trans ECUs with standard transmissions.. but, I don't know if there is something about the 1mz in particular that makes this troublesome. What's-his-name that I haven't seen around here for a while had a 5spd on his 1mz swapped 5g IIRC.

I'm seeing that the 97-00 1MZ can have a wire grounded from the ECU to go into manual mode, but some of the 1MZ did not come with manual options and the ECU does funny stuff and robs power.

Still digging around and taking notes. I can't seem to find a real list of the generations of 1MZ and the differences, I guess it's knowledge you just acquire like how I know the generations of 3S. I know some are drive by wire, some have none return type fuel rails that would need to be swapped. I need to go to pap and look at some engines to really get a feel. The swapping part isn't what bothers me, making it fit won't be the hard part. Getting it to run right is what worries me.

spitfiremk16
04-08-2012, 02:52 AM
Check the forums over on mr2oc.com. They have a v6 forum that should answer a lot of your questions. A good number of guys over there have 1mz swapped cars.

kurt95gt
04-17-2012, 03:51 AM
Im still trying to get minev running right. In my 6gen. But
Heres the little bit that i know.
If you get a 94-95 1mz the 94 ecu works best from my understanding.
96 ecu sucks. Ill. Get the part number from my 97ecu tonightan post it up
94-96 has a return style fuel system 97+ has returnless. If the 1mz came with dbw it was after 98 i beleave
The 97+ maf sensor works best for a obd2 swap.
As far as the trans goes any s series trans will bolt up. I knoe i only had to drill out one hole so the bolt would fit through on my s54. If you use the stock exhaust manifolds the rear bank exist flange. Will hit the motor mount on a s54.
An last but not least mr220v does a great job coverting the harness. For the swap

If i can think of anything else ill be sure to add it

85gtsblackman
05-01-2012, 02:14 AM
umm you could get a 1mz 4th gen camry in a manual, solara too

kurt95gt
05-02-2012, 01:55 AM
I knew some of the newer solaras came with a manual ecu
but not the camry

85gtsblackman
05-06-2012, 01:19 AM
yeah the 4.5 gen camry you could get a 1mz 5speed, its rare though

kurt95gt
05-07-2012, 11:05 PM
I just posted alot of 1mz swap info under the v6 thread under n/a

kurt95gt
06-05-2012, 02:01 AM
Well i put about 120 mile on the 1mz this weekend an she seems to run great!
nice an smooth through every gear. The power isnt really noticeable at light throttle inputs. An almost feels like a 5s. But with a push of the gas shell come to life an take off like a rocket.
An according to my obd2 tool while im cruzing at 60 (give or take alittle) im getting around 33mpg even with the s54 trans
I haven't done the math to see if its right or not.
I used just over 1/4 of a tank an ive drove it 128 miles total

85gtsblackman
06-08-2012, 06:52 AM
other way to get gas milage reading is fill your tank, reset the trip ecu, drive till close to empty, fill again then divide the miles you drove by the gallons of gas that u filled up to.

I.E. 315 miles/14.7 gallons = 21.42xxxx so 21 mpg

which reminds me i need a new o2 sensor