PDA

View Full Version : Planning a build

Acadian Racer
03-30-2012, 02:38 AM
I am currently in the preliminary planning stages of a major project. I am very new to forced induction and have spent the last couple of weeks reading and researching. I feel this has given me a good start but I know I still have a lot further to go. Therefore I am looking for some advice and opinions to help keep me on the right track.

I guess to start with I am planning on performing the swap. I currently have a 91 gts with a 5sfe and am planning on building a 3sgte to replace it.

My plans so far are to use Brian Crower internals using the parts found at the following link. http://www.briancrower.com/makes/toyota/3sgte.shtml

I am looking at the bc0350 spring and retainer kit, stainless steel valves with a 34.0 mm intake valve (bc3350) and 29.5 mm exhaust valve (bc3351), 6.0 mm valve guides, a bc0353 stroker kit with ACL bearrings and ARP fasteners throughout.
On the outside I am looking at a Turbonetics T04B/SV stage 2 with a .48 A/R (11029). Hoping for about 300 hp if the internals can handle this. I guess that is one of my major questions for you folks with more knowledge and experience than me (which is about everybody).I was intending to install an alltrac fuel pump for added fuel pressure. I also see that Turbonetics has recommendations of an Evolution or RG-45 waste gate and a Duo-35 or Godzilla for the bov.
After this I get completely lost as I try to continue learning. What kind of boost would I be looking at to accomplish this, do I need stand alone engine management, fuel injector sizing etc. I hope I'm not overwhelming anyone with all this it likely makes more sense to you than it does me. Just trying to get some sort of confirmation that I'm heading on the right track with all this as I continue to learn.

Acadian Racer
03-30-2012, 02:42 AM