PDA

View Full Version : 1988 Celica Vert 5SFTE Project

Lonestag
01-09-2012, 12:06 AM
With the garage at my new house done, I'm finally ready to start working on my first big project.

I've never tried a swap before, never even taken an engine out, but I have been stalling so long that I've decided I need to just bite the bullet and dig in.

I have almost every turbo part I think I'll need in duplicate. I also have a 93 vert parts car with a sub 100k rev2 5S and Manual trans. I wil be attempting to swap in the newer trans as well.

Wish me luck!

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w237/as256/88%20celica%20Vert%205SFTE%20project/SANY0693.jpg

Here is the 88 Vert, I know she looks a little forlorn sitting there like that, but she hasn't been sitting there long, and the interior is nice.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w237/as256/88%20celica%20Vert%205SFTE%20project/SANY0694.jpg

The old 3SFE isn't that nice though. The wiring is decrepit, and everthing is rusty, I'll be glad to her out of there.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w237/as256/88%20celica%20Vert%205SFTE%20project/SANY0670.jpg

Here is the donor.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w237/as256/88%20celica%20Vert%205SFTE%20project/SANY0674.jpg

And the nice-clean 5S and Trans, waiting to come out.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w237/as256/88%20celica%20Vert%205SFTE%20project/SANY0687.jpg

Sort of a shame, the top is nice, interior clean and the paint is shiny. But yeah, she's a goner.

CriScO
01-09-2012, 12:36 AM
Good luck brother. I better get to drive it!

Lonestag
01-09-2012, 03:47 AM
If it ever moves, you sure can man.

Got it all up on stands tonight. Trying to decide if it would be within my abilities to change the head gasket while it's out. I'm also thinking about using the modified throttle body fitted to a mustang throttle body I've got laying around.

CollapsedNut
01-09-2012, 04:02 AM
Not gonna do a 5sgte?

Lonestag
01-09-2012, 04:39 AM