PDA

View Full Version : Paint advice

UtahSleeper
11-30-2011, 07:05 PM
So, when spring hits I plan on painting one of my cars(Celica Alltrac). I am new to painting and I want to use a paint that may not be fancy, but will look good. My question is what type should I get? (Acrylic, Urethane, laquer, enamel)

When looking at summit and my local paint shop I see alot of different options and blends and not really sure which I should go for.

I was looking at this type of paint:
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SHW-BSP209/
Thier website makes it seem like you can have them mix the color you want also.

Also, how much paint for color do you normally need?

Luni
11-30-2011, 07:10 PM
Paging Captain.

Hipster Lawrence
11-30-2011, 08:38 PM
Urethane.

My advice pay someone to do it. If its less than $3000 it's a shit paint job. You could do some of the prep yourself to save some $. If it's been resprayed before you'll want to take it down to metal.

UtahSleeper
11-30-2011, 08:52 PM
Paying 3k or more for a paint job really isn't something I would do. I am not trying to have some amazing paint. I just want good, durable, remotely reflective paint :) And I would rather do it myself to learn, and when I mess one of the cars up (The alltrac will be a winter fun car, and corolla will be drift, drag, autoX) I wont be mad and can also fix it myself.

MCcelica
12-01-2011, 08:44 PM
PPG makes a good base coat for if you want to DIY. You'll need a good (and large) compressor. And a valve/gauge for right at the base of the HVLP gun. You'll open the valve at the compressor wide open and set the pressure at the HVLP gun with the valve/gauge that's attached to the gun. (That was the part I figured out the hard way and have spent lots more time sanding than I'd hoped).

Good news is, if you jack it up bad enough, all you gotta do is wait and sand it off and start over.

UtahSleeper
12-01-2011, 08:57 PM
Unfortunately I don't have a HVLP gun, but I know I can make use of the one I have.