PDA

View Full Version : Antique License Plates



Hookecho
11-28-2011, 08:51 PM
Anyone here have or thought about getting antique license plates on there Celica?

I know a lot of us will be able to register our cars as antiques pretty soon. I keep asking myself if I would want to. I like the idea of paying a one time fee of $26 and never having to renew my plates again. The issue I have is I don't consider the look of my car to be antique. The cars that I associate "antique" with are of the old Detroit muscle and older vintage cars.

Idk, I'm on the fence with this. I can't decide if it will add to or decrease from the coolness that I associate with owning a Celica.

This is what Mississippi antique plates look like.

http://www.dor.ms.gov/mvl/tag_img/Antqcar.jpg

187flatliner
11-28-2011, 08:54 PM
^^^^doesnt look that great........but the fee is way better.

in oregon we dont have that option.

alltracNyx
11-28-2011, 09:54 PM
In Illinois, the fee is $30 every 5 years for antique plates, as opposed to $99 per year for regular plates (up from the $78 it was ~2-3 years ago), so that would be nice. However, the law for antique vehicles in Illinois states, "Vehicles displaying these plates may only be driven to and from an antique auto show or exhibition, service station or demonstration." Not an option.

Grot
11-28-2011, 10:40 PM
TN laws are similar.

AA plates arent for DD.

4thgenceli
11-29-2011, 12:37 AM
If I tag as classic there is a certain type of insurance I am required to carry as well as a miles per year restriction.


Sent from my iPhail

METDeath
11-29-2011, 02:09 AM
Yeah... GA also sucks... they charge you extra, every year, and you still have to pay up every year.

Superman
11-29-2011, 05:34 AM
Only way I'd do it is if I had the 1st-3rd gens

Car_Barn_Bandit
11-29-2011, 05:38 AM
I like the Ohio plates:

http://stores.platedog.com/catalog/2010-07-25-1448-58.jpg

Cali ain't bad either:

http://classiclicenseplates.biz/store/media/ss_size3/cal-hv-1325.jpg

Problem is, most states say for events only, ie. to and from events as a "parade", meets, etc. Not for daily driving.

The Captain
11-29-2011, 02:48 PM
Who the hell DD's a Celica?

Hookecho
11-29-2011, 04:33 PM
^ I sure don't.

MS doesn't have any laws regulating the use of a vehicle that displays an antique plate.

Car_Barn_Bandit
11-29-2011, 04:51 PM
Who the hell DD's a Celica?


Men.

Physlis
11-30-2011, 04:30 AM
Who the hell DD's a Celica?

The real question is who doesn't?

Posers, that's who.

Hookecho
11-30-2011, 04:55 AM
The real question is who doesn't?

Posers, that's who.

Nah.

People that have more than one vehicle, that's who.

I'll daily drive my truck. I have way to much time and money tied up in my Celica to be daily driving it.

allTRACway
11-30-2011, 06:29 AM
in minnesnowda its a one time fee of like 300 dollars and they are called collector plates you only get to drive 2500 miles a year, cant drive after dark, the vehicle has to be 20 years old (which mine is), and have to basically have full coverage for the full price of the vehicle and any work that was done to it last time i checked so ill be passing on that idea

allTRACway
11-30-2011, 03:05 PM
you forgot in the poll "i will never get vintage plates"

Hookecho
11-30-2011, 03:06 PM
Yet another reason why I love Mississippi.

The Captain
11-30-2011, 03:53 PM
Damn, it's 25 years in GA.

Hipster Lawrence
11-30-2011, 08:42 PM
In GA it's $80 extra and 15$ a year after that.

The coolest thing I've seen is in GA if your car is 1970 and older you can get a plate that matches the year of your car (an actual antique plate) and have it tied to your regular plate. If a cop runs the 40 year old tag # it comes back as valid.

UtahSleeper
11-30-2011, 11:09 PM
I have historic plates on my Rolla. I did that so I didn't have to get emissions lol. That and the car wont be driven over 1000 miles a year, which is the limit in Utah. Here it's 30 years or older can gget the plates.

93cc
12-02-2011, 05:01 AM
I have one on my 81 Celica

Here is what the plates looks like
http://www.dol.wa.gov/images/collectorvehicle_apply.jpg

and the rules:
Vehicle requirements
To use collector plates, vehicles must be:
More than 30 years old.
Capable of operating on the highway.
Owned and operated as collector vehicles.
Collector vehicles may be driven:
To and from auto shows, circuses, parades, displays, special excursions, and antique car club meetings.
For testing purposes.
For the pleasure of others without compensation. This is the key wordage for me... its a pleasure for other to see me driving it ;)
Collector vehicles may not be used for:
Commercial purposes or to carry a load.
Regular transportation in the manner of a fully licensed vehicle.
License plate requirements
Collector license plates:
May be assigned to currently registered passenger vehicles, motorcycles, or trucks.
Are good for the life of vehicle.
Aren’t required to display month/year tab.
Aren’t renewed annually.
Must be displayed on the rear of the vehicle. (You must provide your restored or current license plates. If you provide a set, the collector vehicle plates may be displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle).

I DD and it was ~$50 one time fee,

Mafix
12-16-2011, 10:57 PM
i'm the only one who voted "i have historic plates"
which in MD makes my car uninspectable. hehehe.

93cc
12-17-2011, 12:28 AM
oops, forgot to vote... now there are two of us!

Mafix
12-18-2011, 02:45 AM
md law says that i may drive to and from a mechanic. well that's funny. i call that work. so technically i can DD mine. and the milage restriction can suck my balls since i can put whatever the hell i please in the racepak for milage.