PDA

View Full Version : solid vs hydraulic lifters

cklamp
09-14-2011, 08:33 PM
Hey guys, bit of a newbie here. I've read as many threads as I can, but still not totally sure of which 5SFE's have the solid lifters. I have talked with Delta cam and while not interested in putting a serious monster in the car I could use a few more HP to push the car up the bigger hills. Or just pull the car around when fully loaded on a weekend road trip.

Delta Suggested the solid lifter's for cores. Does that sound about right? that it would be the best core to use for my 91 GT Coupe? If so near as I can tell the Solid Lifter's came in the 92+ 5SFE's? Is that correct as well?

What other visual q's should I be looking for to tell I have the right cam's at a pnp?

Thanks

temperacerguy
09-14-2011, 09:04 PM
OK....

I can understand that you are new to this, and not familiar with engines, or how they operate, but a cam manufacturer should understand at least the basics.

Lifters are what ride on the cam of a single cam engine, and transfer that motion to a pushrod, which transfers the motion to a rocker, which pushes down on the valve opening it. These are used on pushrod engines, NOT overhead cam engines (which 99.995% of all Japanese engines produced are). With an overhead cam engine, the cams either act directly on the rocker, or the valves themselves... In other word, there are no lifters on a 5S-FE of any year/generation or style!

While I don't expect you to know this, if a cam manufacturer doesn't, you should RUN LIKE THE WIND, don't look back, as they have their head so far up their asses that there's no return.

As for power... There's not much you can do to gain any TRUE performance from a 5S-FE, it's an economy engine, and until you do something MAJOR like swapping the head, or something else quite expensive, you're only going to gain a few non-noticeable horsepower with various levels of expense.

cklamp
09-14-2011, 09:21 PM