PDA

View Full Version : "New Posts" search not so new



Galcobar
09-04-2011, 11:56 PM
Any idea why in the last few days the New Posts button doesn't seem to be filtering out posts from prior visits? I use the button and get seven pages of threads up to a week old, where before it would list only those threads updated since my last visit.

Hookecho
09-05-2011, 12:04 AM
I'm not sure. I had the same problem. I had to mark all forums as read to clear the que.

Waffles!
09-05-2011, 12:37 AM
I told Luni about it the other day. I have the same problem.

manda
09-05-2011, 01:10 AM
i do tooooooo. new post filter fail.

celica9303
09-05-2011, 03:55 AM
Word

saki10man
09-05-2011, 04:20 AM
+1

CriScO
09-05-2011, 05:20 AM
Ah, it isn't just me. I thought Tapatalk took a shit.

MCcelica
09-05-2011, 07:40 AM
Nope. It's done the same to me too. I just figured Luni wanted to make the forum seem busier cause we're all on the facebook and his nuts are jealous from the lack of attention...

Galcobar
09-05-2011, 08:06 AM
Seems as if marking the forums as read doesn't just clear the queue, it also appears to reset whatever changed, so that the New Posts button shows only updated threads even after several visits.

klapa
09-05-2011, 07:28 PM
Same for me - many posts that are "stale" seem to come up in bold. I'll try the mark all as read.

allTRACway
09-06-2011, 01:20 AM
same thing happens when i open my subscribed thread box it shows all the threads im subscribed to and not just the ones with new posts

Luni
09-06-2011, 03:35 PM
The forums new posts was broken. It was only showing posts new to the user, and the cookie system wasnt functioning properly. It wasnt working right for me or a test account I had. You may think yours was fine, but believe me, it wasnt. You were missing lots.

I changed it to database marking. Because the database doesnt have marking in it, its a fresh thing, its something that has to "work its way in"

The more you use it, the more it will work right. So dont get your panties in a bunch and just give it some time and see.

allTRACway
09-06-2011, 06:03 PM
But I hate change :(

Luni
09-06-2011, 09:19 PM
Well Im not changing it back so youre just gonna have to deal :)

Hookecho
09-06-2011, 10:17 PM
I have no idea what you're talking about.

Facime
09-07-2011, 12:12 AM
it already seems to be working better for me. I simply went into each thread it was suggesting and back out again. Those threads have not reappeared on my list.

4thgenceli
09-07-2011, 03:21 AM
It sucks.

Fix it.

Luni
09-07-2011, 05:10 AM
Fuck off Tim.

Seriously guys, mark all threads as "read" and from here on out, it will literally ONLY suggest new threads you havent touched lately. Stop bitching about it cause I aint changing it back.

BabyBear
09-07-2011, 05:50 AM
I already bitched about it in person, so I'm gonna do it again on the forums! Not that I really want it changed back, I just wanna bitch for the sake of pissing you off :P

celica9303
09-07-2011, 06:01 AM
So I have to open all 120 threads that show up inorder to only see the new ones from now on? Fail but oh well ill get started tommorrow

KoreanJoey
09-07-2011, 06:54 AM
This is his way of making it look busier.

Waffles!
09-07-2011, 01:46 PM
Bitch bitch bitch bitch bitch bitch bitch.

I don't want to have to open 100 threads to make this shit work. I'm lazy.

BabyBear
09-07-2011, 03:14 PM
There is a button at the top that marks all threads as read. Click that you lazy assholes!

Luni
09-07-2011, 04:38 PM
Yeah no shit. Mark everything as read from NOW, then anything thats recent youve participated in, and anything NEW from this point on will show up as NEW.

Im telling you guys, the way it is currently is the way that 95 percent of other vbulletin boards are set up. I dont know how the setting was changed on ctech, but by default its set to marked in the database, not off a cookie.

alltracNyx
09-07-2011, 06:38 PM
Bitch bitch bitch...

What a bunch of whiners. The new set up works fine. :P