PDA

View Full Version : ST215 3SGTE into ST185 - Name that part game



D3animation
08-06-2011, 06:11 AM
Hi everyone,

Wondering if I could get some help. So im coming up to the final stages of installing the ST215 3SGTE into my Australian delivered ST185 and have a few little issues about not knowing where some hose ends go to... Help please

http://i528.photobucket.com/albums/dd321/D3animation/IMG_0381.jpg

http://i528.photobucket.com/albums/dd321/D3animation/IMG_0383.jpg

http://i528.photobucket.com/albums/dd321/D3animation/IMG_0385.jpg

RedRkt01
08-06-2011, 07:32 PM
Hello from the other side of the world! You need to figure out how the ST215 utilized this VSV and incorporate the vacuum tubing from that VSV to the hard tubing on the back of the intake manifold. To be able to do that you will need a ST215 service manual. Those are hard to come by.

The large tube in the first photo comes off the idle speed control valve. It mates to the stock air intake assembley. If you don't have it, find one and buy it. The small tube comes off of the air jet on the throttle body and goes to the air bypass valve assembly. It requires a hose.

The second photo is of the A/C Idle-Up VSV. I believe that is a stock ST185 item, correct? I will need to know the answer to that question to further help you.

The third photo is a throttle body out let that usually goes to the charcoal canister, but I'm unsure. I'll have to research it more to be certain. I'll get back to you on that one.

4thgenceli
08-06-2011, 08:40 PM
Kevin is mostly correct.

The 2nd picture is the AC idle up valve. Not necessary unless you want to keep the AC functioning. I ripped mine out. The 3rd one does goto the charcoal canister. I have the first two connected..gotta figure out how again :P


Here's the vacuum diagram for the st215.

http://ourlewisfamily.net/diag_1j33WUZ.bmp

D3animation
08-07-2011, 04:15 AM
Thnx,

And yer i would prefer to have the AC connected as summer in australia is well... at the moment its winter and in a singlet and shorts .... Even tho this will be a weekend car (I get driven to work) I will still be doing a bit of driving in it. Is this right how i have it set up at the moment?

http://i528.photobucket.com/albums/dd321/D3animation/IMG_0387.jpg

So Looks like i need that part 17600A as I dont think the engine came with it when i bought it.

And also need a 25860 to go between the vapour vent and the charcoal canister?

acidice333
08-07-2011, 07:21 PM
Hmm when I did my 205 to 184 swap, I took out the AC idle up and related components because the 205 already had a means to idle up.

D3animation
08-08-2011, 12:26 AM
I am running my old ac system I don't need the parts from photo 4?

RedRkt01
08-08-2011, 09:40 PM
Hmm when I did my 205 to 184 swap, I took out the AC idle up and related components because the 205 already had a means to idle up.

Doing that is only oing to work if it wired that way. My ST162 had its own AC computer. The ST202 3SGE I swapped in had the AC functions integrated into the engine ECU. I chose to have the wiring reflect the original ST162 design so that I would have an easier time troubleshooting in the event that my AC somehow broke.

D3animation
08-13-2011, 01:51 PM
So can anyone tell me what I need or need to do?

do i need the parts 17600A for the open end of the pipe and a 25860 to go between the vapour vent and the charcoal canister?

I got the wiring harness done by phoenix tuning if that helps, running the st185 Air-con.

RedRkt01
08-17-2011, 08:05 PM
Yes, you need to get those parts. You also need to talk to Dr. Tweak about how he wired your system. Is it wired for the ST185 AC system? Or is it wired for the ST215 system?

D3animation
08-24-2011, 12:43 PM
cool thnx I will order them when I can..
I found out why my car wasnt running for more than 30 seconds... something was shorting the fuel relay i think.. but we solved it by cutting a wire and now it all works.

I do also have to get now a idle speed controler (the part under the throtle body) as it is faulty :(

zen
09-13-2011, 05:00 AM
yes, st215 has an ac idle up valve. its located on the side of the block. it should be bolted up to that engine hook in your first picture. i would think that splicing the connector from the st185 idle up valve into that idle valve would work. im not sure, im in the process of getting the ac to work properly in my st215 swapped st184.