PDA

View Full Version : Keep Blowing Fuse -- 6th Gen. ST-204

Glinthi
06-06-2011, 08:23 PM
Hello,
First post about my first celica. I'm glad you guys are here. Thanks.

I keep blowing the #6 (10 amp) clock, interior lights, etc. fuse. Also my radio antenna mysteriously stopped working/going up along with my digital clock. (The radio still works though). I checked the driver's side fuse #6 (15 amp; cig. lighter, clock, audio system) and it did not appear to be blown.

A few more tidbits of information. My ABS light is stuck on. And my car/radio alarm (the blinking red light just to the left of the steering wheel) is almost constantly clicking -- even when I'm driving. Finally, the door locks occasionally start freaking out trying to lock/unlock? after I shut the car off. It's like it's possessed. I know I have an electric problem, but I'm not sure where to look first. I'm not very experienced with working on cars, but am willing to try if it's not too difficult. Thanks for any thoughts on this.
http://a5.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/228014_10150200248237138_783807137_7012153_2136263 _n.jpg

bloodMoney
06-06-2011, 09:18 PM
About the cig lighter, try removing the shift boot surround to get a peek back there. You may be grounding something out.

We actually had to pull the OEM lighter and replace it with a different one to keep from popping the fuse. In my case, it was the lighter itself that was going bad.

alltracNyx
06-06-2011, 09:47 PM
^That was true, but the fuse you were popping was the radio fuse. His radio fuse is not popping, it's the accessory fuse for interior lights, the clock, etc.

Glinthi-It sounds like you are having more than just one electrical problem. What aftermarket parts are installed on your car (i.e. radio, amps, alarm, etc)? I would guess that something wasn't installed properly OR there is something corroded somewhere near a fuse/relay box, or somewhere in your harness.