PDA

View Full Version : 3SGE Gen1 to Gen2 or 3 ECU swapage?



CollapsedNut
05-25-2011, 03:23 AM
Any links or info on whats involved and whats to gain? Say I came across a gen2 with most of the sensors still on it, full harness and ECU, I think Id need the rail and injectors as well, but w/e. Is there gain to be had or just money to be wasted?

UtahSleeper
05-25-2011, 03:33 AM
Not sure on the accuracy but here is some info.

Wiki link (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_S_engine#3S-GE)

Seems like just getting a 2nd gen 3sge give you 30 hp on it's own. Not a bad upgrade if it can be had reasonably.

pingpong21
05-25-2011, 04:57 AM
I was thinking about this. I just bought a st165 and was wanting to know if i get a 2nd gen or 3rd gen ecu would it work or be better

UtahSleeper
05-25-2011, 07:08 AM
I would think a stand alone ECU would give the best gains in general.

CollapsedNut
05-25-2011, 08:03 PM
Any other input?
I think I would alsno need to swap the dizzy as well. Not sure but more than likely.

Hookecho
05-25-2011, 10:39 PM
The 2nd gen had more aggressive cams and fuel maps. It also trades TVIS for ACIS. So if you use the electronics from the 2nd gen then you'll have to do away with TVIS or use something else to activate it.

The best upgrade for the first gen is a JDM ECU.

Honestly, it's not worth the money and effort to change out electronics when you can just buy a used JDM ECU and get 30hp.

CollapsedNut
05-25-2011, 11:56 PM
Thats what I needed. Basically if Im gonna get all that, might as well transplant the whole engine. Ima go google 3sge jdm ecu now lol

Hookecho
05-26-2011, 12:47 AM
I can go down to the shop and text you the part # from the one I have off that 3sge.

CollapsedNut
05-26-2011, 02:00 AM
Thats JDM?

Hookecho
05-26-2011, 02:24 AM
Yup

Lonestag
07-04-2011, 02:36 AM
Hook,
I'm kinda interested as well, any chance you could post that number up on the thread?