PDA

View Full Version : Adding an Alternator Overdrive Pulley



Car_Barn_Bandit
03-30-2011, 09:58 AM
Adding an Alternator Overdrive Pulley

There are two common upgrades that really put the hurt on your stock electrical system:


Aftermarket audio system
Updated lighting

Depending on the year, you more then likely have a 70amp or 80amp alternator. Then you upgrade to a higher out-put alternator so when you do upgrade something power hungry, you can still charge your battery without things cutting out.

Then if you are like me, that 130amp alternator is still not enough. The second amplifier goes in, and the first time you have a cold start, you have to jump your ride.

So I asked around and the guys at Summit Racing helped come up with a plausible solution; a fitting overdrive pulley.

Powermaster 115 - Serpentine Alternator Pulley (http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PWM-115/)

With the change in diameter, this pulley should be good for another 20-30amps. You sacrifice overall life of the alternator by increasing revolutions, but you gain the power needed to keep things charged and running.

Here’s what’s needed to make an $8 pulley boost your alternator (assuming your alternator is already off the engine):

Tools
Socket Wrench
22mm Socket
Chain/Strap Wrench

Parts
PWM 115 Overdrive Pulley (http://www.summitracing.com/parts/PWM-115/)
14ga Washing/Bushing (1/2” hole - 1 5/16” max dia.)
14mm SAE Nut (1.25mm x 10 threads)

Instructions

Remove 14mm Alternator Nut

Remove Pulley

Slip on 14ga Washing/Bushing
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley3.png

14ga is the thinnest you can go without rubbing
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley4.png

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley2.png
without spacing

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley5.png
with spacing

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley10.png
without washer/bushing

Slip on 14ga Washer/Bushing
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley9.png

Slip on Pulley
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley6.png

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley11.png
notice depth of pulley doesn’t allow for a lot of grip

http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley1.png
using the SAE nut allows for one extra thread of grip

Hand-tighten Nut
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley7.png

Use Friction to Lock Nut on
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/9/4/1/6/pulley8.png

There shouldn’t be an issue where the pulley comes loose because the motion of the serpentine belt will keep the nut tight. I have been rocking this setup for over a year now, and never had an loosening.

Something important to note: The pulley is a 6-groove, not a 5-groove like the belt and old pulley. You will basically go without using the outside pulley. The only time this added depth will be an issue is with a loose Cruise Control housing. You can run the risk of rubbing which can start a nice little plastic fire.

Enjoy!

(more pics to come - then this line gets edited out!)

Car_Barn_Bandit
03-30-2011, 10:13 AM
* * reserved for installed photo and math on amp/rpm increase * *

UndaGrwnD
03-30-2011, 10:34 AM
i bought one also, Car_Barn_Bandit was kind enough so send me one because summitracing doesnt ship overseas.

Im gonna to install it very soon, and it should be no problem with this nice write-up !

thnx again man !

Hookecho
03-30-2011, 01:41 PM
Thanks for the write up CBB.

DeeCee
04-02-2011, 11:46 PM
how did you brace the pulley from rotating when removing the centre nut? I'm polishing up my alternator and need to take the unit apart.
Thanks

jaydog82
04-03-2011, 12:12 AM
i like to use an impact, it fixes the problem of holding the pulley.

Car_Barn_Bandit
04-03-2011, 01:19 AM
how did you brace the pulley from rotating when removing the centre nut? I'm polishing up my alternator and need to take the unit apart.
Thanks

Just like I show above. I used a chain wrench to hold it. If you're concerned of biting into the grooves, you can use a worn belt to cushion the chain wrench.

DeeCee
04-03-2011, 03:31 AM
cheers - wasn't sure what that tool was you were using :)

alltracman78
04-04-2011, 12:22 AM
Nice write up. :)

Just one correction. That's not an SAE nut.
SAE is standard thread. You mean a metric 10 x 1.25 nut.

Car_Barn_Bandit
04-04-2011, 08:11 AM
Nice write up. :)

Just one correction. That's not an SAE nut.
SAE is standard thread. You mean a metric 10 x 1.25 nut.

I do mean metric, correct. What I was referring to was the hardness. That this isn't just a standard hardware store, galvanized nut, that it is actually a tougher alloy intended for automotive applications.

Luni
04-04-2011, 08:40 AM
You can get a Grade 12.8 nut from a hardware store like Fastenal or Ace. To be honest, that nut isnt specifically load bearing, so it doesnt have to be SUPER strong. But you might as well get whatever hardness you can.

A Metric 12.8 nut is equivalent to a Grade 8 SAE nut.

Car_Barn_Bandit
04-04-2011, 08:47 AM
You can get a Grade 12.8 nut from a hardware store like Fastenal or Ace. To be honest, that nut isnt specifically load bearing, so it doesnt have to be SUPER strong. But you might as well get whatever hardness you can.

A Metric 12.8 nut is equivalent to a Grade 8 SAE nut.

Thanks! One of the reasons I go with the higher hardness is the cheaper stuff tends to seize. I also don't like knowing that it's going to constantly heat cycle which will also make it more brittle. So when it get's stuck and oxidized after chipping, I don't want to think it might round off and create me a headache down the road.

90ToyAllTrac
04-25-2011, 10:48 PM
Ive got cheapo fog lights and a big stereo system. I installed one of those stereo power capacitors. Does anyone have anything good or bad to say about those and if they actually do spare your alternator?

Car_Barn_Bandit
04-25-2011, 11:40 PM
Capacitors still have to be charged with the same system. They're supposed to help with surges, not overall power usage. Unless you frequently have sudden spikes in power usage (subwoofers that peak) a capacitor isn't going to help any. They're fairly dangerous if not properly installed and can burst.

UndaGrwnD
05-19-2011, 11:07 AM
gonna install my pulley this weekend...ill shoot some pics.

acidice333
05-24-2011, 06:56 PM
From smallest to biggestt.. 1.7" 6groove, 1.9" 5groove, stock 5groove.

The 1.9" 5groove does not require a washer/spacer.
The 1.7" 6groove requires a spacer.

I like my 1.7" 6groove better than my 1.9" but that 1.9" cost me quite a bit especially since its 5groove not 6groove.

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/7004/img0414medium.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/812/img0414medium.jpg/)[/URL]

MCcelica
05-24-2011, 10:26 PM
I found out the hard way that the previous owner put an overdrive pully on my 7th gen. I was like "Waaaahhh! Why won't my serpentine belt fit?!?!??!??"... And yeah. That's what it was. Went back to the parts store and got a measured 6 groove belt. All gravy now.

temperacerguy
07-06-2011, 02:52 AM
From smallest to biggestt.. 1.7" 6groove, 1.9" 5groove, stock 5groove.

The 1.9" 5groove does not require a washer/spacer.
The 1.7" 6groove requires a spacer.

I like my 1.7" 6groove better than my 1.9" but that 1.9" cost me quite a bit especially since its 5groove not 6groove.

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/7004/img0414medium.th.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/812/img0414medium.jpg/)[/URL]

Where did you get the 1.9" 5 groove pully, and what is the diameter difference between that and the stock pully?

acidice333
07-08-2011, 04:12 AM
The stock one seems to measure just under 2.5".. 2.3, 2.4 I'd say..

I have mine forsale in the forsale section somewhere if you want to buy it.. its currently on my alternator but I'm planning to take it off at some point.