PDA

View Full Version : My 95 GT overheating problem

Wipers
02-13-2011, 11:24 PM
I have a 95 GT that overheats after awhile and then cools down once I start giving it some gas. One of the hoses recently ripped while I was coming back from a camping trip and my car overheated, but I keep turning it off before it hit the red and just kept adding water until I was within my towing mileage limit and then the car turned off. I replaced the radiator hoses, but the car still overheats. I checked for water in the oil and checked to see that the fans were working properly. I figure it must be a sensor or something, but since I'm no expert I would like to know what you guys think before I do anything else.

WALKER
02-14-2011, 05:37 AM
Do you have just straight water in your radiator? You should have a 50/50 mix of distilled water and Toyota red coolant.

Wipers
02-14-2011, 10:14 PM
Yeah. I had coolant and water but it leaked out. I'm planning on adding more coolant but I don't know if it will help because it seems that the fans aren't going off when the car starts heating up. Maybe it's a fuse or relay? Don't know which one is the relay for the fan either.

WALKER
02-15-2011, 12:42 AM
Well I would definitely say you should get some coolant in there and not just water. If your fans aren't turning on, you may want to replace your thermostat. Sounds like the thermostat may not be working.

sodap0p
02-15-2011, 02:02 AM
Your cooling system is a 'sealed' and pressurized system, if it leaks, you have an issue. Pressure test it, repair or replace the problem, then refill with 50/50 like my man Walker explained earlier. It's probably a good idea to change the theromostat while doing this.

To properly fill(preventing air being trapped) the system after repairing the leak, and installing the thermostat: