PDA

View Full Version : Installing speakers and subs

moofmaw
01-30-2011, 10:38 PM
Hello everyone I am a total noob when it comes to car audio. I purchased a new headunit, 2 4" speakers, and 2 6.5" speakers. I was wondering how difficult is it to install everything yourself? I would rather not pay best buy an outrageous amount of money for something I could do myself. I am also hooking up my subs in the trunk. I am just not sure how to hook up the amplifier install kit I purchased as well. Any help or advice would be great! Even if you think I should find someone who knows what they are doing because I would rather not mess anything up. Thanks!

Grot
01-30-2011, 10:42 PM
Speakers are real easy, HU not as much. You have any electrical knowledge?

moofmaw
01-30-2011, 10:51 PM
My electrical knowledge is enought to hook up surround sound for a room. I was told that since my celica has an aftermarket headunit already in there that I should be able to just swap in the new one using the wiring harness from the old headunit? Would that be correct? One question I had about that is does it matter that my new headunit is more powerful than my old one? So would it still be alright to use the same wiring harness?

Luni
01-30-2011, 10:56 PM
If you have a plug and play style harness adapter, youll unplug that, and unwire it from your old HU and wire the new HU into the existing PnP harness.