PDA

View Full Version : Oil pressure guage, where to connect?



CollapsedNut
01-24-2011, 06:58 PM
I have never put on a oil pressure guage, but I wanna do one in MudHoney. Is there a common place you connect one or do I have to figure it out?

Mafix
01-24-2011, 08:48 PM
either put a T on the stock sending unit or use a sandwich adapter on the oil filter base.

CriScO
01-24-2011, 08:54 PM
Same place as the stock one. You can replace it entirely or get some lines and a T fitting to mount one of them elsewhere. You'll need a 1/8 BSP male to 1/8 NPT female adapter for the hole. Toyota used a british pipe thread pitch for some ungodly reason. O'Rielly sells it through Edelmann, as I recall it's about $10. They'll be able to find it in the catalogue, but I'll get you the part number later just in case. Most distribution centers carry it, so it should only be a day out.

CollapsedNut
01-24-2011, 09:25 PM
Cool. Thanks for the help

Berg
01-26-2011, 01:55 AM
If you decide to use the stock location as CriScO described and put in a T fitting, don't put the T fitting straight into the stock location. I made this mistake when I put my first oil pressure gauge in. The vibration from the engine and the weight of the T fitting caused the peice threaded into the engine to snap. Getting that out wasn't fun. It would be better to instead run a hose from the engine to a T fitting mounted on the firewall/inner fender. I currently use a sandwich plate for the oil fitting, it has four ports for sensors and such on it. I'm currently using one for oil pressure and one for oil temperature. This one is for a MK2 MR2 but I think that all 3S engines have the same size oil filter:
http://www.twosrus.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=22_83&products_id=281

Cheers,
Berg

CriScO
01-26-2011, 08:20 AM
^Lol, that's exactly why I said, "get some lines and a T fitting." I learned the hard way too. Although I got lucky, mine just vibrated loose. I was checking something else and barely touched it, and the whole thing turned. I should have been more specific.

I totally forgot to get that number man, I'll be sure to pull out the catalogue tomorrow. Sorry.

CollapsedNut
01-26-2011, 01:18 PM
Its cool. Itll be a few weeks before the engine is ready for a guage anyways. Thanks

Berg
01-27-2011, 04:19 AM
^Lol, that's exactly why I said, "get some lines and a T fitting." I learned the hard way too. Although I got lucky, mine just vibrated loose. I was checking something else and barely touched it, and the whole thing turned. I should have been more specific.

My mistake, I was envisioning a T fitting into the head with the stock sensor plugged into it and then a line of the other side to the aftermarket sensor. I guess my mind just works strange.

Cheers,
Berg

CriScO
01-27-2011, 07:39 AM
Its cool. Itll be a few weeks before the engine is ready for a guage anyways. Thanks
Lol, I figured. I just have to do it now because I'll forget later. Part number is 265220 from Edelman. If you do go to O'Rielly also give them the line code, EDE. It'll make things go faster. It retails for $8.49 here, but pricing does vary by region.


My mistake, I was envisioning a T fitting into the head with the stock sensor plugged into it and then a line of the other side to the aftermarket sensor. I guess my mind just works strange.
No mistake at all, I didn't really specify. I just found it amusing that we both did it the wrong way first. :)

RedRkt01
04-04-2011, 08:41 PM
Alright folks....similar question. One of the main things that keeps me from driving my 3rd Gen 3SGE powered ST162 is the oil pressure gauge. The ST202 version just detects pressure and illuminates a light in the cockpit if the that pressure goes too low. Hooked up to my ST162 wiring, the gauge maxes out because it senses pressure. That's fine and all, but I'd like to use the gauge in it's normal capacity. That said, I want to use the ST162 oil pressure sensor. However, it fowls on the TB cable wheel. I need to extend it 1-1.5 inches away from it's normal position on the head. Suggestions?

RedRkt01
04-11-2011, 04:54 PM
I know this was an old thread when I posted up, but can Iplease get a little help/insight/suggestions? I'd really appreciate it!

rizin
04-13-2011, 06:15 AM
A hose made to length with with 1/8 in. bpt female and male ends would work great.

RedRkt01
04-13-2011, 02:10 PM
Thanks, Rizin. I was thinking more along of brass fittings coupled together. Any ideas there?

CollapsedNut
04-13-2011, 03:44 PM
Just do it? It really wont matter how its connected.

RedRkt01
04-13-2011, 04:09 PM
Thanks Nut. I'm looking for is information on where to source brass fittings for an automotive application, possible brand names if someone knows of one, and any suggestions one might have on what worked for them (or what didn't). I've been looking for male-female 10.0x1.0 brass fittings and can't find them so I'm hoping someone here might have done this and can give me a pointer or two. Information is what I lack not the know how to get it done....if I could just do it I would have already instead of driving around to hardware stores and autozone, parts america, and o'reilly's. I'm getting burned out on looking.....

CollapsedNut
04-13-2011, 04:50 PM
Lemmi grab my oil sender tonight and Ill bring it to work tomorrow. Im sure I have something here that will work. Ill let ya know.

RedRkt01
04-13-2011, 05:24 PM
Thanx brotha!

CollapsedNut
04-13-2011, 05:28 PM
Are you using the st162 sender?

RedRkt01
04-13-2011, 06:12 PM
Yes, I have to.

CollapsedNut
04-13-2011, 06:13 PM
Ok, just making sure.

CollapsedNut
04-14-2011, 06:01 PM
I forgot to bring it. Ill do it tomorrow. Sorrys

CollapsedNut
04-15-2011, 02:47 PM
I forgot again lol. Sorry.
If you wanna text me sunday night to remind me
828
734
4905

RedRkt01
04-15-2011, 03:25 PM
Doh!

CollapsedNut
04-15-2011, 04:33 PM
Im terrible at remember stuff. When I wake up Im dreding going to work so much that I dont think of anything else lol

RedRkt01
04-16-2011, 12:16 AM
^+1

RedRkt01
04-18-2011, 03:21 PM
Nut, any developments?