PDA

View Full Version : Rev3 FWD Dyno Results



acidice333
01-18-2011, 07:52 AM
So I got bored and decided to dyno my 91 GTS 3SGTE swap....

bkr7eix plugs, dp, 3" exhaust, intake (not CAI), advanced 2? degrees, 91 octane.

It was suggested I get an aftermarket FPR... fueling is all stock, even the pump.

Suggestions?

http://www.sweetlikecandy.info/car/91gts-dyno/R_DYNO_TORQUE.jpg

http://www.sweetlikecandy.info/car/91gts-dyno/R_DYNO_AF.jpg

http://www.sweetlikecandy.info/car/91gts-dyno/R_DYNO_MAP.jpg

Hookecho
01-18-2011, 12:54 PM
Nice numbers!

Blackcloud
01-18-2011, 01:38 PM
not bad at all

JDM SNUKUMZ
01-18-2011, 02:22 PM
nice numbers man

UndaGrwnD
01-18-2011, 03:25 PM
on what boost?

ChrisD
01-18-2011, 04:23 PM
Wow, that is great for 14-15psi. Is this WHP or BHP? Also what correction factor was used (STD/SAE/None)?

You are on the stock GTS fuel pump?? Or the GT4 pump? You are running more lean than I would go personally, and if it's the GTS pump that could very well be why. Usually the gen 3 will be just fine until much higher boost. Aftermarket FPR can help but only if your pump can keep up. Then, you have to consider the fuel rail as well - I don't remember if the 3rd gen rail had the same issues as the 2nd gen?

But seriously, you should make it to Ogopogo this year - I'd love to see it in action! :)

Mafix
01-18-2011, 04:49 PM
yeah nice graph but we need more numbers than that. what turbo, engine specs (bone stock will do), what was your a/f?, ect...
also this was on a Dyno dynamics, i forget whether they read lower or higher than a dynojet

ChrisD
01-18-2011, 04:52 PM
Mafix: the a/f and boost are in the 2nd and 3rd graphs

Dyno Dynamics depends fully on how it is set up by the operator. The one I went on read about 14% lower than dynojet. Sometimes they are set up to read flywheel HP too, which changes things a lot. So no real good comparison to Dynojet as it could be pretty much anywhere in relation.

Sang
01-18-2011, 06:16 PM
Then, you have to consider the fuel rail as well - I don't remember if the 3rd gen rail had the same issues as the 2nd gen?

Gen3 rail is a beast. Honestly...if I had a gen3, all i'd do is put in a pump, biggest sidefeeds I could find and run it as-is to make big power if that's your fancy.

Overall, looks like nice smooth power.

Luni
01-18-2011, 08:17 PM
Yeah it looks good.

Its Gen3 not Rev3 though. Rev is a term applied to the MR2 crowd in terms of body revisions of the SW20.

Car_Barn_Bandit
01-18-2011, 08:29 PM
Yeah it looks good.

Its Gen3 not Rev3 though. Rev is a term applied to the MR2 crowd in terms of body revisions of the SW20.

So when I refer to a Rev 2 5SFE (knock sensor), I should use Gen 2 instead?

ChrisD
01-18-2011, 08:47 PM
Yeah it looks good.

Its Gen3 not Rev3 though. Rev is a term applied to the MR2 crowd in terms of body revisions of the SW20.

The use of Rev over Gen is common in Europe.

Luni
01-18-2011, 09:34 PM
So when I refer to a Rev 2 5SFE (knock sensor), I should use Gen 2 instead?

Nope, cause it isnt a different generation, its just a different revision. First 3SGTE was in a 4th Gen Alltrac. That was a Gen1 3S. 2nd 3SGTE was in a 5th gen alltrac, that was a Gen2 3SGTE, third was in a ST205, thats a Gen3. See where this is going.

First Gen 5S was in a 5th gen Celica. They revised it halfway through the run, so all 5th gen GT/GTSs have 5S, but some are Revison 1s and some are Revision 2s. A Gen2 5S would be the one found in a 6th gen celica and camrys of that era.

For Acidice, your AFRs are kinda lean dude. You also should set your timing back to 10. Youll lose some power, but with your afrs the way they are, you might be running on the bleeding edge.

I wouldnt run 12 degrees timing and those AFRs if that were my car.

ChrisD
01-18-2011, 10:04 PM
For Acidice, your AFRs are kinda lean dude. You also should set your timing back to 10. Youll lose some power, but with your afrs the way they are, you might be running on the bleeding edge.

I wouldnt run 12 degrees timing and those AFRs if that were my car.
^Agree

Especially on a JDM ECU with only 91 octane. Do you have 94 there at Chevron/Husky/Mohawk?

acidice333
01-19-2011, 03:04 AM
Woo lots of replies!

Ummm... I'm on the stock GTS fuel pump wired at full power instead of using the fuel pump resistor.

Now since I didn't mention anything else such as turbo, its pretty much stock except for those few things mentioned.

We do have 94, but I've just been using 91 @Shell. Perhaps I'll switch to 94 @Chevron next time. My buddy has a 90 300ZX TT, after using Husky/Mohawk 94 one of the injectors went and boy was that fun to change!

Yeah I think I might put it back to stock timing next time its warm out until I upgrade the fuel pump and stuff but at least now we have a small idea of using the stock non-turbo pump on a swap :) but other than that it drives great!

Probably won't upgrade the pump till Spring or Summer.. need todo that, but also need to replace the heater core :( I don't know why on some days there is a noticeable leak on the passenger floor mat, but the other days theres like nothing on there???

pintoBC_3sgte
01-19-2011, 03:26 AM
hoowee!! you got some hustle to your step!
i agree with chris. you definatly need to try and make it out to the ogopogo this summer.

ChrisD
01-19-2011, 04:25 AM
I'm actually surprised the GTS pump is pushing as much fuel as it is. I'd swap that out ASAP personally. Or turn the boost down a tad until you can.

lol "next time it's warm"....damn Victoria peeps. :P

pintoBC_3sgte
01-19-2011, 04:33 AM
I'm actually surprised the GTS pump is pushing as much fuel as it is. I'd swap that out ASAP personally. Or turn the boost down a tad until you can.

lol "next time it's warm"....damn Victoria peeps. :P

lol my fuel pump couldnt cut it on my 5sfte and im only pushing 9psi

zen
01-20-2011, 08:13 AM
funny thing is that im also running my stock 91 gts fuel pump on my caldina swap and it runs great. even driving the car with 15psi daily, my narrow band afr readings are 14.6 at cruising speeds, and 11.6 to 12.6 when flooring it. possible that the gts has gotten a beefier fuel pump from gt models?

Mafix
01-20-2011, 03:12 PM
ah thanks chris. i see those now. yeah that's a bit lean in the higher rpm. other than that great numbers!

acidice333
01-21-2011, 12:13 AM
Oops sorry I missed one...

BHP... :)

"As with most Dyno Dynamics owners, we have always applied a "dyno jet" comparison to our machine. This is to aid our customers in comparing their own setups to others based on different dynos. This correction is based on a well established industry average, and factored in over the base Dyno Dynamics number. SAE is applied on the day of the vehicle dyno, so that is always a constant. In short, the numbers are the same as they have always been, and we have verified that fact with several vehicles that had recently dyno'd on the DOS machine. All tests were conducted within a period of 5 days or less, so actual ambient air was similar. As with any dyno, the numbers are not necessarily the most important part of the machine, but the difference between runs and the gains made are. "

When is the Ogopogo? I can't find it on the forums?

ChrisD
01-21-2011, 04:53 AM
Cool, good to know. Yes they are right most important to watch variance between dyno runs when changes are made. Are you sure it's BHP? If so, do you know what drivetrain loss % they use?

Ogopogo will be August 5-7, in Vernon/Kelowna. We don't have a thread for this year yet, a bit early. I'll get that going after Dragon is done probably. :)

acidice333
01-21-2011, 05:35 AM
Yeah, doubled checked with them and they said they always do BHP.

It should be 15%.

zen
01-21-2011, 09:57 AM
i don't know if anyone noticed but the graphs on the side says flywheel hp. theres no way he is making 271 bhp. my caldina swap running 15psi is only making 240 bhp...

ChrisD
01-21-2011, 04:39 PM
Ah yeah I missed that. 270bhp is realistic. That's only a bit up from the OEM spec. 240bhp is pretty low zen, but could be attributed in variations from type of dyno too.

zen
01-22-2011, 11:15 AM
ok.. so am i getting this wrong? so in conjunction 271 bhp with drivetrain loss of 15% would be 271*15% - 271 = 230.35 hp.. right?

when i had mine dyno'd, the graph showed HP vs TORQUE.

my HP was 239.9 hp, therefore i would be making 282bhp?

maybe im getting bhp mixed up with hp...

presure2
01-22-2011, 01:50 PM
results look about spot on IMO....14psi, 270hp at the flyweel...~240-50whp...good stuff..now crank up the boost and make 300whp+!!

ChrisD
01-22-2011, 03:25 PM
results look about spot on IMO....14psi, 270hp at the flyweel...~240-50whp...good stuff..now crank up the boost and make 300whp+!!
He's gotta do the fuel pump first or he'll definitely lean out. :)

Zen: You've got it. Most of the time, dyno's will output the power at the wheels since drivetrain loss varies from car to car, and is a bit tough to estimate. Some shops, do add it like this one (also popular practice in the UK). But just remember on your calculations that adding 15% to the WHP is different than subtracting 15% from BHP.

zen
01-23-2011, 08:49 PM
thanks chrisD, yea i found that out rather harder to do. so i guessed a number and took 15% from it. the one that came the closes to 240HP was the number i went with. learned something new everyday.

Blackcloud
01-23-2011, 11:08 PM
my truck looses about 60hp through the drivetrain

Luni
01-24-2011, 03:53 AM
Its not a fixed number Jason. Standard RWD setup through a slushbox is ~18 percent or more. Lets say its 18 percent and you make 550hp its closer to 100hp loss (99 to be sure at 18 percent). If youre in 4wd mode, its more like 20-25 percent depending. So it could be even more than 100hp loss.

Blackcloud
01-24-2011, 04:20 AM
I run in 2wd mode. we run a rare few trucks in 4wd mode. this is because some trucks start cutting power due to the computer wigging out with the front tires not moving

motor is 360/610 at the fly wheel stock

I make ~300-305 stock.

with my current tuning im sitting at 450rwhp, best is 630rwhp

but i understand what your getting at that the higher your hp the more off your drivetrain loss is

Luni
01-24-2011, 04:28 AM
Jason do you guys use a Dynojet? And its an AWD dyno?

How easy would it be for you to get me and BabyBear up on that thing come summertime. Him in the STI and me in the MR2?

Blackcloud
01-24-2011, 04:38 AM
its a super flow. and yes awd

Just let me know.. ill be glad to let you guys use it some weekend

heres a pic of my truck on it
http://www.celicatech.com/gallery/files/1/9/photo_6_288153.jpg

vid of buddies truck we took last week
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KJdA5rVIWx4

Luni
01-24-2011, 04:39 AM
Fuckin tits dude.

Awesome.

Blackcloud
01-24-2011, 04:47 AM
Ill only charge you $40 a pull too ;)

Luni
01-24-2011, 04:48 AM
No you wont. :)

Blackcloud
01-24-2011, 04:55 AM
lol.. your right.. i wont.

Luni
01-24-2011, 04:58 AM
If you pay me 40 Ill give you a "pull" or were you going to charge me 40 so you can pull rank on me? :p

Blackcloud
01-24-2011, 05:06 AM
lol... we even kinda have a drag strip behind the shop we can race on.