PDA

View Full Version : Remote Start/Alarm Installation

DudeMan
12-20-2010, 03:54 AM
I got this (http://www.canadiantire.ca/AST/browse/2/DriveWinter/WinterCarCare/RemoteCarStarters/PRD~0340744P/ProStart%252B4-Button%252BRemote%252BStarter%252Bwith%252BKeyless %252BEntry%252Band%252BAlarm.jsp?locale=en) remote start kit yesterday for my birthday/Christmas.

I'd like to install it myself ASAP but I've never done one of these before..

Any tips, advice?

The amount of wiring is intimidating but it looks fairly straight forward from looking through the manual.

There's two things I don't get though..

For one, there's two red power wires in the main ignition harness of the remote start unit, both are fused. The manual says to splice it into the 12v+ wire of the trucks ignition harness and then simply repeats itself for the other red power wire.. Why two power wires? Do I splice them both into the same power source? :dunno:

The second is the shock sensor. The manual doesn't say anything about mounting it or anything and I imagine its placement is important.. There's also no tabs or bracket to mount it with so I'm kind of lost as to where to put it and how to put it there.

I get off work at noon on Friday so I was thinking I'd go straight to my uncles shop to put it in. Hopefully it doesn't take longer than 4 or 5 hours.

bitskyline
12-22-2010, 11:17 PM
go in at get a store credit for some tools. im not being a dick but if you wanna go for it thats your cross to bare.

mount the shock sensor to a decent solid spot away from moving parts. same goes for the starter its self. try to run all your wires along with facotry wires for a clean install. use atleast 10" if tape on all your solder connections. take your time, cut wires to length, zip tie on both sides of your ign harness once your done to keep it all tight. DO NOT HALF ASS IT. that only causes more problems.

and im going to try this again... TAKE IT BACK !!! lol