PDA

View Full Version : help with new install appreciated



nairnman
11-23-2010, 05:39 PM
right what i have is
2x 12inch mutant subs rated at 200 watts
1x 10inch boss sound sub rated at 250 watts
1x mutant amp max 200 watt 4 channel
1x kenwood amp 250 watt 2 channel
both amps are bridgable.
1x shark 1.0 farrad power cap

i know how to setup a amp and sub but all this is overwhelming and dont know where to start. my headunit only has 1 preout so i will get a splitter for the rca cables so that bit is ok. i also know that i can bridge the remote cable between the 2 amps so thats ok. its the power and grounding thats troubleing me especially with the power cap. i only have 1 cable from battery and thats the power so i want to use this for both amps and power cap. is this possible? if somebody could draw me a diagram of their ideas on how to wire all this would be very good. or step by step instructions. thankyou.:D

andy
11-23-2010, 06:38 PM
red is positive(+) and black is negative(-) just hook it up and turn it on yo! actually take some pics of your setup and ill draw the wiring for you.

FluffyNutts
12-11-2010, 08:46 PM
http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/2483/wireing.jpg

is that somewhat what you were looking for? The RCAs are in the green... I am no audio specialist, so someone correct me if I tottaly got this wrong.

Car_Barn_Bandit
12-11-2010, 10:33 PM
Buy a yellow top battery. Use fuses. Get a higher output alternator. Do the Big 3 Upgrade.

temperacerguy
12-13-2010, 09:45 PM
That diagram is wrong....

Wire from battery and to amp both go to positive on the cap.

negative on the cap goes to ground.

Also, with your 4 channel amp, I believe you can input to 1 and 2 and select "2 channel" on the switch and it will splice the channels together for you. 1 with 3 and 2 with 4. The output leads from the 4 channel amp will then go to the input of the 2 channel sub you have.

http://i236.photobucket.com/albums/ff73/temperacerguy/amp.jpg

If this isn't clear, shoot me a PM with questions and I will help you out with it. I do some pretty serious installs and have quite a bit of experience with it.

temperacerguy
12-13-2010, 10:00 PM
You keep referring to "the big three" upgrade.... yet every search I do for it comes up with your posts saying "do the big three"

What the F is "the big three"?

ChrisD
12-13-2010, 10:24 PM
Big Three refers to the 3 most important wire circuits relating to your power supply.

1. Alternator to Battery (+)
2) Battery (-) to Chassis Ground
3) Engine to Chassis Ground

Car_Barn_Bandit
12-13-2010, 10:26 PM
You keep referring to "the big three" upgrade.... yet every search I do for it comes up with your posts saying "do the big three"

What the F is "the big three"?

I am doing this to Blackhawk tomorrow. I shot a PM to Mario, who apparently is dead, about making a sticky on this. I am documenting it so all can easily see and do an inexpensive and awesome upgrade.

You get 3 new wires under the hood that help with the flow of electricity from the alternator to the battery increasing efficiency and relieving stress on 20 year old wiring.

FluffyNutts
12-14-2010, 02:50 AM
That diagram is wrong....

Wire from battery and to amp both go to positive on the cap.

negative on the cap goes to ground.

Also, with your 4 channel amp, I believe you can input to 1 and 2 and select "2 channel" on the switch and it will splice the channels together for you. 1 with 3 and 2 with 4. The output leads from the 4 channel amp will then go to the input of the 2 channel sub you have.

http://i236.photobucket.com/albums/ff73/temperacerguy/amp.jpg

If this isn't clear, shoot me a PM with questions and I will help you out with it. I do some pretty serious installs and have quite a bit of experience with it.

Curious... what is different about the diagrams? I see the only thing different is the different grounding points for the amps... Why is it wrong that way? Not arguing I am just curious so I know when I do my next instal.

187flatliner
12-14-2010, 03:48 AM
i run two amps, a cap. 2 10's and 2 6x9's

i ran my one positive wire to the positive side of the cap....took the ground from the cap and ground it to the chassis, then took all new wire (+/-) from the cap to one amp and did the same for the second as well. so i have 3 wires connected to the cap on each terminal. dont get a splitter for your rca's tho....just run one to your first amp (input) and then plug your other rca in to the (output) on your first amp then plug that one into your second amp(input). do the same for your memory wire as well.

temperacerguy
12-14-2010, 05:53 PM
The difference is that the cap you have I/O on different posts in your diagram... all power wires (from the battery and to the amps) go to the same post on the cap. (the + post)

Also, you have a splitter in the signal wire. His 4 channel amp has an input and an output RCA.

As for my current power setup in my Evo...

I have:
(4) amps
16 drivers (2 12" dual driver subs, 5 mids, 5 tweeters, 2 bass shakers) for 5.1 dolby digital surround
(2) 3 farrad caps
rewound alternator
mini battery

I am currently doing the layout for my AT, it's going to be a small 1000W setup with surrounds and probably 2 10" subs, 2 amps, and a cap.