PDA

View Full Version : rca cables (phono leads) help



nairnman
11-06-2010, 12:51 PM
i was wondering if the rca cable are connected to the amp and headunit for the sound can i get rid of the power cable or is this needed. just use the earth to car body and the remote from headunit to turn on/off amp?

TXcajunman
11-06-2010, 02:47 PM
you will still need the power wire as its what gives the amp power, the rca's relay the music to the amp.

Murgatroy
11-06-2010, 03:48 PM
The RCAs feed signal to the amp, not power. The remote lead turns the amp on and off. The power wire gives the amp power, and the ground (earth) grounds the whole system.

Yes, you have to have them all.

rmpinky
11-06-2010, 06:16 PM
Where did you ground your amp to out of curiosity?

nairnman
11-06-2010, 10:42 PM
i ground my amp with the headunit but in the process of grounding to car body maybe boot floor

METDeath
11-07-2010, 01:48 PM
Earth your amp somewhere less than 30cm away from the amp. If you still have issues, remove the paint from the area where you grounded it, and use a dielectric grease to prevent corrosion.

nairnman
11-07-2010, 03:09 PM
i will do that thanks everyone

klapa
11-07-2010, 04:54 PM
You can get away with using the car body for your ground - but for something like a stereo that pulls a large amount of current in "surges" its not the best idea. You can get noise due to ground loops.

A large guage wire directly to a ground on a fuse block under the dash would be the best choice.