PDA

View Full Version : amp grounding help



nairnman
11-06-2010, 12:47 PM
i have my amps ground wired to the headunit and works but what difference is it to ground to the cars bodywork. is the quality of sound better that way.

Siyx
11-07-2010, 03:59 PM
A ground is a ground. I ground my AM amp to the baby seat mount that is bolted to the body of the car. Never have any problems with a good ground. If you have a bad ground you will know it, the amp will cut out. Depending on the quality of the amp you may hear popping or ummm "staticky" sounds when you lose ground and gain it again.

alltracNyx
11-07-2010, 05:11 PM
You want to ground your amp as close to the amp as possible, using as short a piece of cable as possible. The longer your ground cable is, more resistance can build up, which can cause noise/interference in your sound. You also don't want to ground to a thin piece of sheet metal. Ground the amp to a seat bolt or any large bolt going to the body. And the ground wire should be the same gauge/thickness as the power wire.