PDA

View Full Version : High Idling?

rmpinky
10-23-2010, 06:53 PM
Hi guys, i'm new to this forum, stumbled upon this site from Toyotaownersclub.com

Anyway, down to business :look:

Starting up my Celica GT 2L when it hasn't been driven for a while (time varies, but generally over night sets it back) makes the Idle go to 1500RPM. After a while of driving, it goes back to a more acceptable 7-800Rpm. Is this normal for the cold weather?

I'm still learning about cars in general, and overall Celicas (nice to drive, rear passengers complain though (ungrateful for lifts haha))

Cheers in advance

*EDIT* Forgot to mention 1994 Gen 6

Facime
10-23-2010, 07:02 PM
When the engine is dead cold the idle is raised by the computer to speed up the warm up process. Ive had Celicas idle over 2k on first start up. That speed should then drop slowly and steadily back to normal as the engine warms up. That is normal behavior.

If your idle will sometimes bump up even after its warm but still comes back down you probably have some air trapped in the coolant.

rmpinky
10-23-2010, 07:05 PM
Ahh, thats ok then.. Going on that, now it makes sense why it doesn't do it after i've driven to the shop... Cheers mate :D

Ricky99
10-26-2010, 01:36 AM
Hey I have a 3rd gen 3sge engine in my celica and I get the same problem on mornings.
My engine idles up too 2000 rpm for like five minutes then it slowly drops to 800-1000 rpm when the engine warms up.
At first I thought that with no oil circulating throughout the engine on a cold startup with 2k rpm would cause premature wear on the internals so I disconnected the idle motor jack and it idles fine.

rmpinky
10-26-2010, 04:40 PM
You disconnected the idle jack? Surely the engine would have oil anyway? (Not exactly a spanner monkey though)

Facime
10-26-2010, 07:47 PM