PDA

View Full Version : Where are ya'll tapping in the oil temp & pressure gauges?



cbrkp
09-21-2010, 05:51 AM
Wondering where ya'll tap in aftermarket oil temp and oil pressure gauges?

oil adapter? or are you guys tapping in near an oil housing? :)

METDeath
09-21-2010, 06:26 AM
Most of the guys on here tend to use a T joint at the stock oil pressure sensor location. I can't think of anyone off the top of my head that runs an oil temp sensor, just a pressure sensor (not switch, which is what is stock).

klapa
09-21-2010, 06:30 AM
Generally speaking - you connect an oil pressure gauge at the point of least oil pressure - which would be at the top of the valve train oil galley - and probably this also where the factory oil pressure switch is installed - so you just put in a "tee" there for your gauge.

I would think for oil temp gauge it could be nearly anywhere - the oil temp should be nearly uniform wherever in the engine you could actually get a sensor to measure it.

90blacktrac
09-21-2010, 06:30 AM
Technicly to do the oil temp right you would want to get an mr2 pan and put a temp sensor in instead of the oil level sensor, but thats way too much work, just tee it where the stock sensor goes.

ChrisD
09-21-2010, 04:38 PM
Moving to Forced Induction as this is a 3S-GTE related question.