PDA

View Full Version : My Gauge..



acidice333
07-28-2010, 07:20 AM
So here's what I've been working on...

http://www.betweenmytoes.com/t/57/DSC02094.JPG.png (http://www.betweenmytoes.com/i/57/DSC02094.JPG/)

The display is cleaned up a bit more now but you get the idea.


Right now its monitoring my W2A water temp using an inline adapter and uses the stock EFI Water Temp Sensor. During the day it peaks upto 40* C. mmmm hot intercooler water. Should it be this hot? ..then again I don't really have airflow for the radiator.
http://www.betweenmytoes.com/t/56/DSC02091.JPG.png (http://www.betweenmytoes.com/i/56/DSC02091.JPG/)

It has RPM but I haven't bothered to hook it up yet and a voltage monitor. I'm debating whether I should create an adapter for everything or just harness the power of the existent OBD1 serial communications but the update speeds are just too slow

Luni
07-28-2010, 03:55 PM
Moar info needed.

Hookecho
07-28-2010, 04:54 PM
So this is a multifunction gauge?

acidice333
07-29-2010, 01:46 AM
Multifunction?

Right now its monitoring my W2A Water Temp, Battery Voltage and RPM and just fits it on the screen.

Its a 52mm pod.. 4 wires coming out and going to an external circuit board.

The inline water temp sensor line I made was out of steel pipe and a nut and a standard Toyota EFI Water Temp Sensor (Bosch should work also)

Nitro_Alltrac
07-29-2010, 02:24 AM
That's pretty sweet. I've been thinking about how to do a temp gauge for my WTA. That's an excellent idea. That guage is nice. Where did you get it?

acidice333
07-29-2010, 07:41 AM
The pod shell is from a Megan Racing A/F Gauge I stripped since I got it as a package deal so why not and the display itself is a 128x128 pixel display crammed in.

The battery icon changes in 3 modes when voltage levels change ( red as you see, orange and blue )

I'm trying to debate on what I should monitor next? Coolant temp?

donteatbugs
07-29-2010, 12:41 PM
oil pressure or egt is what i would do next.

Sang
07-29-2010, 07:24 PM
Very nice. I have to ask though, how is visibility with so many parameters being shown on a 52mm face?

Luni
07-30-2010, 08:12 PM
I still want to know what you used for your controller, what did you use for the LCD. Can you give more info about the actual gauge itself?

Shadowlife25
08-03-2010, 05:19 AM
I still want to know what you used for your controller, what did you use for the LCD. Can you give more info about the actual gauge itself?

This is the info folks would ike more of I think. :):canada2::beerchug:

acidice333
08-03-2010, 06:55 AM
The actual display I'm using is a uOLED-128-G1 (128x128 OLED Display) but unfortunately Ive had the display for a few years now and its starting to show its usage.

As for the brains, I'm using a PIC18F4550 microcontroller.

W2A sensor is hooked up to the microcontroller's analog input via voltage divider circuit
Battery voltage is hooked up to the microcontroller's analog input via voltage divider circuit
RPM is hooked up via opto-isolator to microcontroller's capture/compare input.

Speedo I may or may not hook up. I really don't feel like wiring up a zero-crossing circuit.

Anyways.. I'm making this thing just to monitor a bunch of sensors..