PDA

View Full Version : So who here autocrosses?

gt4tified
07-13-2010, 05:47 PM
I have been autocrossing on and off with my GT FOUR for the past three years, not including this year. The car has not been on the road for the year as yet but its not a big deal...it will be soon.

Who else here autocrosses their celica and what specific mods have you done or do you intend on doing to better compete or in my case, just avoid a line of DNF's or whatnot?

I have put on since the last time the car was running:

A completely different engine and gearbox (a built gen2 3sgte but doing some de-tuning specific to the demands of autocross)

A set of Tein SS coilovers...I hope they are worth every cent I spent!

Goodridge brake lines

A RSR front strut bar and a custom rear strut bar. I'm trying to beg one of my friends for his C-ONE trunk bar from his RC that he sold.

I can't wait to test the car out on these new goodies and get the suspension tuned!

Hiko
07-14-2010, 12:55 AM
Sounds like you're car should be a lot of fun when it's back at it!

There are quite a few people here that autox, though I don't know how regularly most do. Joey on here is the resident autox guy, and I've put in more than a few races in my st184. I switched racing duties to my rx7 last year though.

One bit of advice with your suspension setup is to not neglect alignment. I notice you didn't mention anything about it, and it makes a huge difference, even compared to some suspension modifications. (friend of mine still claims alignment did more for the handling of his Jetta than a set of fully custom coilovers, and I believe him)

jsooke
07-14-2010, 02:24 AM
AutoX is quite class oriented. The mods that you are talking about will take you out of stock class and into ST or SP classes, where there are some quick cars. Also, your PAX numbers are negatively affected.