PDA

View Full Version : 5sfe vs 3sgte 02 Sensor



FluffyNutts
06-22-2010, 11:32 PM
I replaced my 02 sensor on my 3s swap above the cat and it has one wire which I believe is from the 5sfe. The 3sgte has more wires. Now does that 02 make a difference on why my car is running so rich? Because one was 40 dollars and the 3s one was 90 dollars, but the 3s one would not work... Does the 02 from the two matter?

ChrisD
06-23-2010, 05:50 AM
If your 3s is JDM, it would use the 1 wire from stock. The sensor with other wires (4 wire I think?) is for a heating element, which warms up the o2 sensor on cold start and was only offered in North American models. Being in Florida, it's safe to say you don't need it. Hell, I've run a 1 wire in my car for 7 years now and I'm in Canada.

When is your car running really rich? Unless it's at cruise and idle, it's not the o2 sensor that is the problem. These cars just run rich from the factory.

FluffyNutts
06-23-2010, 05:47 PM
Thanks for the 02 info... it runs rish at idle, under load all the time... brand new plugs not even 1 month old... dark as night and it runs really rough.