PDA

View Full Version : Wastegate bracket fabrication



4thgenceli
06-17-2010, 05:17 PM
I'm about to head down to the metal shop to use the plasma cutter and play around.

Is there an ideal thickness of sheet metal to use? I'm thinking between 1/16th and 1/4" sheet metal. Too thick of a plate would cause the WGA to not reach the WG lever, and to thin would leave it weak and it'd flex when it tries to open the wastegate.

I think that 1/8th would be the max I want to go, 1/16th looks to be the ideal size (based upon how it sits). The st215 housing is different than the 165/185, and only has two bolt holes, not 3. I can't use a straight piece of metal between the housing and starter bolt, so I'm going to cut a piece that (sniff) covers mostof the TOYOTA and front of the compressor housing

joe's gt
06-17-2010, 07:03 PM
1/8" sounds good to me, but I've never made one :) You using steel or aluminum? Steel would be stiffer, but harder to cut. But since your using plasma, it shouldn't matter.

Luni
06-17-2010, 08:07 PM
Id recommend aluminum for that. The turbo housing is aluminum. Its lighter too. And it wont rust out.

ChrisD
06-17-2010, 08:33 PM
I'd go Stainless Steel. :D

Get a feel for different thicknesses, see if you are able to flex it by yourself. If you can, that's a good indication that it would flex when pushed against by the WG actuator.

4thgenceli
06-18-2010, 01:09 AM
Being in AZ I'm not 'too' worried about rust. If I do go with a steel, I would eventually get it powdercoated.

The plate will be about a 5"x5" square, cut to fit like this.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash2/hs046.ash2/35650_1391996532121_1598373568_919847_3749838_n.jp g

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc4/hs086.snc4/35650_1392004012308_1598373568_919879_5125202_n.jp g

The aluminum it's sitting on is a 12"x24" sheet (for size comparison).

4thgenceli
06-22-2010, 02:44 AM
So..

that stupid little C clip that holds the actuator to the wastegate, is that really necessary? I don't see the thing moving in that direction much at all.

4thgenceli
06-27-2010, 08:15 AM
Another update, 16gauge steel is not thick enough. Maybe if it's doubled or tripled up it would work, but just 1 piece of 16gauge flexes too much.

Buddy's cutting the template out of 1/4" aluminum stock Monday.

presure2
06-27-2010, 03:42 PM
wow, 1/4"?
why not 1/8th" i'd think that'd be plenty..
and yea, the c-clip holds the arm on...it would prolly eventually wiggle its way off without it.

joe's gt
06-27-2010, 07:05 PM
Actually I would imagine 1/8" aluminum would flex too much. Stainless steel wouldn't tho.

4thgenceli
07-06-2010, 02:57 AM
My neighbor's shop deals with Aluminum only..so it was free & available :P

rizin
07-06-2010, 06:51 AM
Hey adding ribes of metal in strategic spots can make metal stronger. Then you have aluminum polished that looks good.

dups90gt
07-06-2010, 12:55 PM
That looks exactly like the bracket I made when i clocked my CT20b, I used thicker metal and it still flexed, you have to make some sort of arm to hold the top part to one of the bolts on the engine, i have't done it yet but I know my car wont sustain boost for long coz the WG is a little open. Its also a bitch to sdjust the arm once you clock, try and get and adjustable fitting on the end that connects to the flapper door from the wg arm. Let me know how it goes.

Adjustable arm.
http://turbosunleashed.com/shop/images/Wastegate%20Actuator%20Extension%20(Chrysler).jpg

Im going to end up mounting it to the starter bracket and making a new bracket.

andy
07-06-2010, 09:40 PM
you need the c clip, but a body clip works just as good.