PDA

View Full Version : "Celica People" are special

klapa
05-21-2010, 02:39 PM
All,

You know - I don't want to seem as "pandering for attention" here. Yet I do wish to relate a few observations I have about this community - and "life in general".

When I was on the Dragon Run and my car started overheating in the middle of nowhere - I was ready to throw in the towel - I didn't want to rain on everybody else parade.

We were near that small town "Robbinsville" when I finally pulled over and was trying to tell everyone to just go on - that we would make it somehow later on our own.

Yet when I was willing to just "cut my losses" and do the best I could - that blond haired guy in the Marines from Arizona (I'm not good at remembering names) with the 7th gen just wouldn't leave us alone. A typical "Celica Person", he said "we don't leave anybody on the side of the road". Murg sat with us at that gas station all day Saturday and in so doing missed out on allot of the fun.

Same with the guy I just bought my Alltrac. I felt kind of bad, as he had to sell the car cuz he was in a computer school and had to go into debt for 25k - here we can give a bunch of "Goldmann-Sachs" type of thieves 700 BILLION dollars to bail them out but not put a kid thru school. He was asking $3200 for the car and I paid $2400 - only because that was positively ALL I had.

I sent him an email thanking him and this is his reply:

"hello hello haha i very much appreciate the email. i'm actually very happy that the car is going to someone like you who has a passion and love for the car as i did, instead of some kid who just wants to get in it and "go fast" haha.

when working on the car i tried to take no short cuts on it, its such a rare car it deserved the best i believed haha, and i never beat on it either, all my friends know me for driving like a grandma, i just don't like beating on something that i work hard on or getting a ticket for that matter, everything's too expensive already lol