PDA

View Full Version : Plugging vac lines



TXcajunman
04-23-2010, 09:41 PM
I ordered the brass shifter bushings and a mbc i have found the directions to put them both on no prb. my ? is i know i can use a screw or something along those lines to "cap" the to hoses the need it. but is there something better maybe made for that i can get locally? the mbc i ordered is used so doubt it will come with the caps from twos r us thank you in advance

T-spoon
04-23-2010, 09:49 PM
a screw and zip tie really do work great for plugging vacuum lines. Alternatively, you could get the rubber caps and just remove the whole line at the source/junction and cap it there. If you're no longer using that vaccuum line, it doesn't need to hang out in there, it's just less work to leave it in.

Shadowlife25
04-23-2010, 10:51 PM
Vacuum caps were the route I chose.

I will give a bit of advice though:
If possible find caps that are made of a thicker rubber or silicone material.

The high levels of heat in that area make standard vacuum caps degrade relatively quickly.
Once a cap degrades it causes a leak.
Or it can alternately simply fall completely off if it is worn enough.
This will mean that you have theoretically infinite boost and may or may not hit fuel cut.
Likely the latter as you are using an MBC and not an EBC.

My .02

90blacktrac
04-24-2010, 06:34 AM
http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS/555/15013/10002/-1

I got 2 sets of these and they always come in handy.

Shadowlife25
04-24-2010, 09:55 AM
Exactly what I was referencing. :)

MidnightBlueGT4
05-11-2010, 07:10 PM
http://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS/555/15013/10002/-1

I got 2 sets of these and they always come in handy.

Exactly what i used on my car.